Sunny With A Chance Of Spending

Abagail Berkowitz
Marketing Right Now
3 min readMar 16, 2022

Why do I spend more on sunscreen than the average consumer?

Growing up, my mother ingrained in my siblings and me the importance of sunscreen. In my pre-teens, I never understood why my mom lathered our faces with it every day, and made us constantly re-apply at the beach. Now, as a young adult, I feel the need to apologize to my mother for my constant complaining as a child, since I now understand the importance of sunscreen. In life, I do not find myself spending a lot on many products like skincare, makeup, and other body care items, but when it comes to sunscreen, I splurge.

The sunscreen I use daily is made by the brand Elta Md. It was recommended by my family dermatologist many years ago, and had been a family favorite ever since. The brand has positioned itself on the market as the #1 trusted and recommended professional sunscreen by dermatologists. Because of both my doctor’s recommendation, and the brand’s status, I am willing to pay more for the product.

A study shows that annual spending on sunscreen is between $30 — $62. I spend a bit more than the average consumer, due to both the cost of the sunscreen and the amount that I use it (2x a day). If it weren’t for my doctor’s recommendation, I most likely would have found the sunscreen through research. Many articles recommend this sunscreen brand in the top 5 for sensitive skin.

Another reason why the product can charge more is due to its formulation and ingredients, including hyaluronic acid, niacinamide, lactic acid, etc. The sunscreen not only protects you from the sun but helps improve skin hydration and health.

In 2021, many drugstore sunscreen brands were recalled for small amounts of carcinogens. Carcinogens are linked to blood cancer and other illnesses, which is scary to think about, when you are directly applying something to your skin. Elta Md is trustworthy in its fragrance-free, oil-free, paraben-free, sensitivity-free, noncomedogenic, and vegan formulation. I don’t have to worry about putting harmful ingredients on my skin when using their products.

With Elta Md offering a product that is trusted by doctors, and is safe and healthy for my skin, it allows me to justify this purchase. I don’t have to sit and argue over UV protection and healthy skin ever again. At the end of the day, your skin is your largest organ — it seems worth spending a pretty penny taking care of it.

--

--