The Tyranny of Choice

Rivka Szafranski
Marketing Right Now
2 min readOct 21, 2021

I’m going to be straight with you- I find the tyranny of choice SO annoying, but at the same time, I wouldn’t have it any other way than to be able to get the brands i like and the products i like. So while yes, I could get up here and say we have too many options and should just narrow it down to a few products, I would be dishonest if I didn’t think that those products should be the ones that I like.

Like I said, I hate the fact there are so many options. It makes shopping confusing and dreadful sometimes when you have to make small decisions that seem so astronomical because of the way the product is marketed when in reality will have zero to no impact on your daily life or usage of the product.

When I look at products that have been so wildly successful, I actually see products in which the company focused on one specific and unique item, instead of creating a myriad of products from which to choose. Coke would be one example and an iphone would be another. While these companies also have other products, they don’t have much differentiation between this product and another one just like it.

If I were building a company right now I would focus on only one specific product. If this is successful, I think there is room to build other products around it with various specifications. Only though, if it will not detract from your original product which you are KNOWN for. The second people start getting confused, they will not buy either product.

--

--