Was Spending $1500 on a Suit Worth it?

Smit Pujara
Marketing Right Now
3 min readMar 17, 2021

Do you sometimes look back on your purchase and ask yourself “was it really worth it ?” I always do that especially when the price tag is way over my budget. One of those purchases was a designer suit I bought for my graduation. Some may say it was unnecessary or “EXTRA” , but I think it was totally worth it!

I first spotted this suit on one of my favorite Bollywood Celebrities and immediately fell in love with the whole concept of the suit, I knew I had to wear it to my graduation. Usually I am not the one to spend crazy money on materialistic items but this Suit was calling my name and I had the perfect occasion for it; My Graduation! The Suit is from a well known Indian Fashion Designer Amit Aggarwal, and that was the first time I had heard of that designer. When I stalked his Instagram, I was in love with all of his couture outfits. He really takes the traditional Indian Fashion and adds a hint of western couture to it and creates magic.

After I looked at the price of the suit, I asked myself, is it really worth it spending 95,000 Rupees ($1500) on a suit? I told myself let’s give it a try! I called the Amit Aggarwal Shop, and inquired about the suit. The customer service representative informed me everything I could potentially need to know about the suit. The suit had a tree-bark like visual with golden metallic design and it sits perfectly with the more mechanical straight print of the shirt. Amit Aggarwal’s Modern Indian Couture designs are all about Form and Structure, which took shape growing up in a family of engineers and scientists. His childhood days were spent observing his father’s work on engineering projects and he uses his inspiration for engineering in his design ideology roday.

After learning all I needed to learn about the designer and the suit, my question was, well I am not in India to give measurements so how can we work this out? The Designer Assistants then helped me get the perfect measurements through a video call and they were able to take my order just over a phone call. Usually Indian Designers are not this helpful so I was thankful that they were able to help me out. At this point I was convinced that the suit is a piece of art and the $1500 is totally worth it.

Finally after 45 days of placing the order, I received my suit in mail! I rushed to the university mail center to grab it, I had no patience to try it on and when I tried it on, it fit perfectly to my body and I was super impressed with the tailoring, the material felt chic, it was super comfortable and it felt Royal. I was very happy and I told myself and my friends that this suit is totally worth $1500.

--

--