What I learned in [Marketing] School is…

Tanzania Jackson
2 min readDec 16, 2019

--

As this semester comes to an end it is time to reflect on what I’ve learned in boating school… I mean marketing so far.

I must say that overall my idea or view of marketing has remained the same. If anything, I will say that this past semester has only reinforced the views that I had regarding marketing. It has just given me the official names of marketing strategies, such as newsjacking, KPIs, big ideas and CRM software.

I will say that there is an aspect of marketing today that has changed. That is just how personalized the marketing world is getting. Things that I would have never thought about are becoming tailored to the consumer and it is both amazing and scary. Scary because where is the line between what is personalized content and what is an invasion of privacy?

Either way, marketing has made huge strides between utilizing technology and creativity in the ever-changing world. Marketers in the future, including myself, will have to learn how to stay up to date with the new technologies and how to utilize them to the advantage of the organization.

Another challenge will be setting your organization apart from the competition to keep the loyalty of consumers. As my generation grows older and as future ones emerge, it will be harder for organizations to maintain the loyalty of their consumers as it is dwindling with each year. I see this as being a challenge because no longer will the value of the brand be placed in the quality of the product.

I do look forward for the challenge as well as the new strategies that emerge in the coming years. Marketing is an ever-evolving industry and as a marketer, I must be able to adapt to the changes.

--

--