What Do Your Customers Want?

Armand Morin
MarketingUniversity
4 min readNov 24, 2020

November 23, 2020 / Armand Morin

This is a question that I believe very few people ask. Many times, we don’t really consider it too much because we think we know what our customers want.

We have the attitude that they want what I give them, which is the attitude many marketers have today, rather than finding out what our customers really want and then simply giving it to them, which is much easier.

When you know what your customer really wants, then you don’t have to think about it. They know what they want, and they’re hoping that someone creates something that fills the need. So all you have to do is create it, say here you go and they will naturally want to buy it. That means there’s no hard sell in any part of the process at all. It’s an easy sell.

So again, the question is, what do your customers want?

How do you figure out what your customers want? Simple, ask them.

Periodically I ask my customers questions. It may be through email, a survey or a post on Facebook, Twitter or Google Plus.

For example, a couple questions I’ve asked recently…

“I’m thinking about where to hold my next Armand Morin Live Seminar. Where should we hold it?” I provided a list of 10–12 different cities, including some of the ones we were considering and I basically, knew where I was going to do it but I wanted to test

it to see if there were other answers I wouldn’t have considered before.

We didn’t get a huge response, because it’s probably a boring question for people to answer, but from the responses we received, the number one location was New York City.

I would have never guessed that be- cause historically very few Internet marketing seminars are actually held in NYC. I can only think of one or two, during the course of time I’ve been in this industry. The reasons include it’s expensive, it’s difficult to get to and there are a number of other reasons, as well.

The next city was Orlando, Florida, which is where we have done several events before. I love Orlando, because there is a great facility there I like to use.

The third one that came in was Chicago, this was another surprise for me. Fourth was LA and Las Vegas rounded out the top five.

I never would have guessed that NYC or Chicago would have been there if I hadn’t asked that question. I wanted to be sure that I’m giving my custom- ers what they want and I’m holding events where they want me to.

Another question I asked is, “what autoresponder do you use?”

The reason I asked is because I’m creating a new product and it has to do with email, so I wanted to integrate with the most popular autoresponders that my customers were actually using. I asked the question and we got many that were common like AWeber, Get Response or Infusion Soft. I also got a lot that I didn’t know.

There were many auto-responder services I’ve never heard of before and that was a shock to me.

“They know what they want, and they’re hoping that someone creates something that fills the need. So all you have to do is create it…”

ARMAND MORIN

Another example of this is that not too long ago I posted a question on Facebook that said, “if you could make WordPress do anything you want it to do, what would you want it to do?”

I received a bunch of responses on that one. Some people responded with good ideas while others were a bit crazy and not possible, but at the same time helpful because it showed me what they wanted.

The reason why it’s good to ask your customers what they want is very simple. You sometimes believe that you know what your customers want, and you don’t see the need to ask anymore.

We all go through it. “I know bet- ter than my customers” and some people want to think like Steve Jobs, who once said “how can a customer or focus group really tell you what they want because they don’t know what they want until they actually see it?”

I completely agree with that statement when talking about innovation, but in many cases we aren’t talking about innovation with our customers online. What we’re really talking about is finding out what their main problems are so we can solve them.

So asking your customers what they want makes it easier for you, because by them telling you what they want they give you an indication as to whether your product is going to sell or not. That’s important to know before you even create the product. If you know ahead of time what your customers want then you can create your product correctly, guaranteeing that it is going to sell.

--

--