PERSUASIVE WRITING in 2020 (VIDEO INCLUDED) — YOU WONT BELIEVE IT OMG

Praveen Chandimal
MarketMore
Published in
3 min readOct 20, 2020

alright that was a bit too much. yep.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

But then again, that clickbait headline right there will help us take this journey together. You and I, as brothers, as sisters, as gender neutral or gender non conforming people of this society… as a family, we’re gonna get through this together.

Persuaded enough? Let’s begin.

Now it’s safe to say that we’re all familiar with the mindset in writing where we want people to read the stuff we write. We want to make sure that they take a look at our copy, we want them to stay loyal and go through the whole copy and it would be a pretty sunny day in a beautiful Philadelphia if they were to react to whatever we wrote. That’s where a good headline comes in as well. A good click baity yum-yum headline that can attract the audience that we want around us.

Persuasive writing in 2020 is basically about two things. Yeah, it’s that simple. Read on.

You. Yeah, you.

The power of engagement is a beautiful thing. And a driven promise at the initial interaction can go a long way. Every business in the world lies upon a promise (HA!) to deliver what they promised in the first place. When they do, they work. When they don’t, it’s almost always a lawsuit. A promise offered brings in an element of trust. When trust is ensured a promise starts to work.

Now where am I going with this? Well, let’s go back to the headline of this article and the opening two paragraphs. First of all, I’ve made you interested in this. And I’ve given you a promise. Now, I have you with me and we’re in this together.

In basic hypothetical terms, I called you with a whistle, watched you trot towards my lemonade stand, and I told you about this great ass pyramid scheme I’m working on which can totally make you $200,000 per month and that we’re gonna do it together like a family and you were like “eh fuck it. tell me about it” and now, we’re here.

But what I actually did here was that I spent a minute and I focused on you. I made you the Santa of my Christmas. And in my case as a writer, you don’t needn’t bring me a gift. You are the gift.

But what I actually did here was that I spent a minute and I focused on you. I made you the Santa of my Christmas. And in my case as a writer, you don’t needn’t bring me a gift. You are the gift.

Clear of Clutter.

The next thing about persuasive writing in this day and age is to keep it simple, precise and clear of clutter. “Clear of clutter” was also the name of the indie band I never had. Getting back to the point though, I blab a lot when I write. So I’m probably not qualified enough to comment on being clear, precise and clear of clutter but even though I screw around in my writing I do still try to highlight what matters. Not with bold letters but with context conclusions.

Which in simple terms is being able to back up the claims that you make. Nobody wants to read something (even if it’s enjoyable) and feel empty at the end. You need your reader to trust you and believe you. So go ahead and do you research. String up a google search, note down the essentials, rack up the stats, showcase the charts, look out for the why and most importantly believe that it works.

Because you need to believe in yourself and your work before convincing someone else to do so.

And that’s it. That’s how you do persuasive copy in 2020. No video as in the title of course but hope I drew the bigger picture for you.

--

--

Praveen Chandimal
MarketMore

Home is all calm and cool until you stop and let you heart run.