Fashion & the Fed

Sarah Menendez
Marketplace by APM
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2016

I’m the digital intern at Marketplace, which means when a story you hear on air goes up on our site, I have to find a picture to go along with it. If you’re an avid listener, you’ve probably figured out that I spend a lot of time on Getty Images looking at pictures of Janet Yellen, wondering what she’s thinking. The same can be said about Jack Lew any time there is news from the Treasury Department. I also end up turning to my co-workers, talking about how cute the Treasury Secretary’s glasses are or how much I love Chair Yellen’s statement necklaces. Finally, I decided why not turn this into a lookbook?

So here we are, a list of some of my favorite looks from my favorite financial leaders:

Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen

aka Queen of the Purple Power Blazer

Silk Scarves

You might have noticed that she wore a silk scarf over a black pantsuit today at the Fed’s meeting, where she announced that they won’t be raising interest rates. And even if you didn’t notice, that’s fine, because I did. It’s a frequent style for her and I love it.

Bold Colors

Sure, sometimes she’ll shy away from telling us when the next hike will be, but she does not shy away from wearing bright blazers.

Prince would be so proud.
Is that a bright blue/silk scarf combo? You bet.

Statement pieces

With her simple yet effective statement necklaces, she’s really made me re-think how I accessorize.

Poppin’ collars.

Secretary Treasure Jack Lew

the best glasses in D.C.

Keepin’ it cas

Sometimes, you just gotta lose the tie when you’re on the road. Y’know, breath a little on a diplomatic tour of the Forbidden City, or talk shop with your work friends at Camp David.

Striped Ties

He embraces the bold stripe. It’s fun and a nice break from the same boring pin stripe ties we see over and over again behind podiums.

THE GLASSES

Lets get real, those glasses are really cool. Are they Warbys? I don’t know, but the brown tortoise shell frames give every outfit he wears so much life.

Of course, these two fashion-forward financial leaders have to work together sometimes, so here’s my two fave pics of them:

“Omg you’re matching”

--

--

Sarah Menendez
Marketplace by APM

I do digital things for radio. Daughter of Southern California. Trying to find my words again.