4 Useful Tips for Procrastinators To Get More Done!

Bernard C.
MarketSolvers
Published in
4 min readOct 16, 2020
Photo Credits: Tom Morel

Finding yourself slacking off from time to time at work, even though you promise yourself you must get things done today? To be honest, you are not alone. A majority of us tend to struggle when it comes to things like planning our routines and strictly following it.

For some people like me, who cannot sit still for long hours. Trying to focus and get things done is really challenging. With this inspiration in mind, I decided to share how I “plan” (sort of) my routine to ensure I still complete what I need to do every day without forcing myself to do so. I believe that the more you force yourself to do something, the more you hate it and eventually, you will give up.

Just a disclaimer note before I begin, this is not for everybody. I am just sharing how I manage myself here so I can get more done at a time to all of you as a reference. If you have your own way of managing yourself and get more done, please feel free to leave a comment below so everyone can learn from you too!

1. Listing down top 3 tasks I must complete yet dislike to do on the day itself.

Photo Credits: Glenn Carstens-Peters

Some of you may think that 3 tasks can be very little. If it is, please feel free to add more provided that you are confident that you will get it done. For me, anything more than 3 tasks will not work for me as I tend to procrastinate. The only exception would be those that I like to spend my time on.

The 3 tasks I meant in this section would be those activities that you dislike to do, yet you must complete it due to certain reasons. All of us have our own favourite pastimes and we are programmed to not try something we do not like. Hence, it is necessary to trick ourselves into doing it at times to move forward.

2. Rewarding myself for each task completed.

Photo Credits: Kira auf der Heide

Everyone loves rewards, especially when you finally did something great and wanted to celebrate. If you never reward yourself before, it is time to do so. Love yourself because if you don’t, nobody else can help you to do so!

Once I finish something I told myself to complete on the day itself, I always reward myself. The rewards I gave myself do not cost money all the time, I usually just do something I like to do and enjoy myself. Some of the activities can be playing games, read a book or even taking a good nap. Find something you like to do as a reward so at least you have something to aim for when you make your plans.

3. If it is something you must do daily or weekly, consider building the habit up slowly.

Photo Credits: My Life Journal

There are times where you decide to build a new habit that can improve your current routine. However, most people easily give up doing that because they do not start off in the right way.

There is no way we can force ourselves to do something new consistently straight away, we must build that habit up slowly. I usually start off by spending a few minutes a day developing that new habit and commit to it. Once I feel that I am used to the time spent, I proceed to increase it until the target time I plan to spend on that particular habit.

4. Try to do things in a group if possible.

Photo Credits: Duy Pham

Ever heard of the term “peer pressure”? Yes, peer pressure can help you if you hang out with the right people to develop healthy habits. Furthermore, you can quickly get things done since you have a few people to share the workload and enjoy doing them.

Conclusion

I hope that these tips can help you out in setting your ideal routine. Looking forward to seeing your lifestyle improved with better routines that work for you and commit to it long term.

Before you go, please do not forget to check out my other publications at:-

Facebook -> https://www.facebook.com/MarketSolversIsAwesome

YouTube -> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgd41HgCVaMaLdvTSfRvwDA?sub_confirmation=1

Spotify -> https://open.spotify.com/show/2hLPUkmed4fMBVsrsJ3Fhe

More awesome tools -> https://www.themarketsolvers.com/softwaretools

If you have any questions, you can leave a reply below this blog or email me at support@marketsolvers.zohodesk.com. I will gladly answer your questions whenever I am free to help you guys in your journey.

--

--