The Man Behind the Shades

Walks beside me, tenderly.

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Marlene in a Pub
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2021

--

Angelo Pantazis Unsplash

They say you can tell a lot about a man
just by looking into his eyes
just by his inviting smile
just by the way he carries himself
especially when he’s on his last mile

They say the suit doesn't make the man
that there’s so much more to understand
than the gold on his wristband
or the batmobile he suits up in

I say you can tell a lot about a man
just by how he looks into your eyes
just by how he smiles at you when you're sad
just by how he carries his own weight
or behaves when he’s mad

They say behind every successful man is a woman
and I say
I’m not behind anyone
but I’m beside him
that is
if he’s beside me

But to truly walk beside me
he must be okay with showing me
his weakness and his strength
his tears and his hopes
his success and his failure
his glories and his stories
about all the times he was
sorry

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Marlene in a Pub

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson