Marquette Golf; More than a team

Garrett Loomis
Marquette Golf
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2016

When you hear ‘family’ used in a sentence, usually you think about your parents and siblings.

In the sense of the term this is correct, but family can be something so much different, and sometimes so much more.

Like most of my teammates, we didn’t call Milwaukee home until we arrived on campus.

Photo by Trevor Thomas

Home to my teammates has included; England, Germany, South Africa, Mexico, Tennessee, New York, Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota and of course, Wisconsin.

Although we are all from different corners of the world, it hasn’t stopped us from coming together as a team, and ultimately a family.

Photo by Garrett Loomis

Being 5 hours away from home I only get to see my parents and brother a few times a year. Although, this doesn’t mean that I’ve been without a family.

Since we are all together for hours each day we don’t have a choice but to interact. Whether that’s working out, practicing, playing on the course, studying, eating, or just hanging out.

Photo by Marquette Athletics

We are together for up to 12 hours a day during the season. More if it’s a tournament.

One of the main reasons I look forward to doing each of those things every day is because of the group of guys I get to do it with. Being on a team with 9 of your best friends is what pushes me all that much more. Working hard not only for myself and family, or the university I represent. But the group of guys that are right there with my grinding away.

Photo by Garrett Loomis

Last year, my roommate and I were the only freshman on the team. “The upperclassman embraced us and welcomed us as one of their own right off the bat. It was the same with this year’s freshman as well. I think that’s what makes our team bond so strong” says sophomore, Trevor Thomas.

As my junior year approaches this fall, I am personally taking it upon myself to embrace the entire team the way that those before me did. To give the incoming them a home away from home, and a new family full of live long brothers there to support them.

It is absolutely crucial for us to spend time together. Being there for one another, and pushing them through the good times and bad. As a result of doing so. A family, and band of brothers is created.

--

--