To Pack or Not to Pack

Melissa Gibson
Marquette Meets Peru
5 min readApr 9, 2019
I mean, there has to be SOME kind of limit on what you bring.

Y’all, I know you: I know you are going to want to bring all your favorite shoes and clothes and so many toiletries, plus you’re not going to believe me when I say that it’s fall in Peru and your summer clothes won’t really be appropriate (because, you know, we’ve already been in winter forever). And I know you’re going to be tempted to pack the biggest suitcase possible, and pack it stuffed to the gills with stuff. I know. But can I share a word of advice?

Don’t.

On a logistical level, you’re going to want to save room for everything awesome you are going to bring home. And also on a logistical level, you’re going to have to schlep that very heavy, very full suitcase around every other day once we leave Lima for the Andes. And your host family is going to think you are such an American, and most of what you pack won’t get worn, and…

Okay, maybe that’s just me. Pack what you like. Just make sure amid everything, you’re packing for what you’re about to experience in Peru, which is:

These people are dressed appropriately for the weather. Be like them. They could even wear those clothes to a school placement!

[1] Fall & Winter

I know it’s May-almost-June, but the world is upside down here. Their summer is ending; their autumn is starting. What does that mean? When we arrive, it’ll be like our September—when it’s sunny, the days can be quite warm, and if you’re walking around (especially away from the coast), it may feel like summer. But that’s short-lived, and before you know it, you’re going to wish you had close-toed shoes and a fleece and something other than a sundress to wear. Really. You can bring that stuff, but can you please bring warmer clothes, too?

[2] The Rainy Season

In Lima, the sun will slowly be in the process of disappearing behind a constant layer of marine fog. This is the rainy season. Not the big kind of Midwestern rainstorms we’re used to, but garúa, a constant misty drizzle.

[3] The Mountains

Once we leave Lima, we head to the Andes, from 12,000 feet and up. We’re closer to the sun which means during the day, you will often want to strip down to your t-shirt. Awesome! Do it! As long as you have on sunscreen. But when the sun starts to set, it gets cold. Like, legitimately cold. And in Andahuyalillas, we don’t have heat in our rooms. You’ll want a pair of big warm socks, a wool hat, a sweatshirt, pajama pants. It’s cold in the morning, too. You can see your breath. You really will want something other than sandals.

You couldn’t do this in flip flops.

[4] So. Much. Walking.

Maybe I’m old, but I don’t think flip flops and cute little ballet flats are going to cut it most days. You will want good, sturdy walking shoes. Most days we walk well over 12,000 steps. This is especially true when we are in the Cusco region and when we visit the pueblos jovenes in Lima, where it can also be very dusty or very muddy, depending on the last time it rained.

[4] Professional Settings

At least 11 days of our program are spent in schools, where you’ll be observing and helping in classrooms. You’ll want to dress as you do for a field placement or internship. You don’t need to wear a suit or heels; business casual is fine. What is most important is that you look conservatively professional but also ready for whatever gets thrown at you. Think khakis, cotton dresses, comfortable pants that aren’t jeans or leggings.

[5] Kids

When we’re not in schools, we’re often working with kids in less formal spaces: playing soccer, doing art projects, running around an after school program. You’ll want clothes that can dirty or sweaty, but that are still presentable.

[6] Peers. Fun. Free Time.

How do you dress in the rest of your life? You’ll have time to be that person here, to.

Our group and UARM students. The folks on the ends (not me!) are great examples of versatile dressing—although maybe not white pants if we were going to be with little kids at some point.

[7] So Many Things In a Single Day

The best outfits are versatile outfits, the kind that can go from a classroom to an after-school program to a meet-up with your university peers. Clothes that are presentable across a variety of contexts. Clothes that won’t get totally ruined if they get a little dirty. Clothes that are respectful when you don’t know much about the people you are going to meet.

[8] Laundry

You don’t need to bring a new outfit for every day. You can get your clothes cleaned for fairly cheap rates.

So what does that mean for actual packing?

Here’s how I’ll be filling my mid-sized suitcase:

Shoes

1 pair sneakers, 1 pair ‘work’ shoes (comfortable ankle boots), 1 pair sandals (that I probably will never wear, but I can’t let go of the fantasy of summer); since I broke my leg last year, I might also bring my hiking boots to be safe.

PJs

2 pairs (at least one long-sleeved/pants), 1 pair REALLY warm socks

Outfits/Clothes

2 jeans, 3 work pants, 2 leggings; 4–5 lighter weight shirts that I can wear to work or on the weekends, 2–3 long sleeve layering tops (like a cardigan), 1 lightweight sweater, 2–3 t-shirts for sporty and sightseeing days, 1 sweatshirt or thermal layer; 1 dress. As much as possible, these are all interchangeable.

Workout Clothes (if I’m feeling ambitious)

1 yoga outfit, 1 bathing suit

Undergarments

Enough for roughly 10 days.

Outerwear

1 fleece, 1 rain shell, 1 umbrella, 1 knit cap (or I’ll buy it there!).

Accessories

2–3 scarves that I can wear with my interchangeable outfits, small selection of jewelry, baseball cap or sun hat for sightseeing, backpack, small purse, sunglasses.

Toiletries

Everything I use at home, but small size containers for the basics (toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, soap, feminine hygiene products) because I can always replenish in country; my prescriptions.

Technology

My Peruvian blow dryer (buy one at the grocery store in Lima rather than bringing one that won’t work with you), my phone and charger, my laptop and charger, my fitbit and charger.

Snacks

A box of granola bars because sometimes the snacks I like are hard to find, a pack of Starbucks instant Via packs for a coffee emergency.

Miscellaneous

Gifts for my hosts, a book for pleasure reading, a deck of cards + cribbage board.

Last year my airline lost my luggage for a week. The lessons I learned were: I can get anything I need in Lima. I packed way too much. My carry on should have at least two days’ worth of clothes in it. And, if the airlines lose your luggage, they’ll buy you new clothes. So maybe it turned out all right in the end.

--

--

Melissa Gibson
Marquette Meets Peru

Teacher. Writer. Wanderer. Scholar. Sharing my students with the world.