4 tips for becoming a better writer

Marquette University
Marquette
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2016

Former visiting professor and novelist Benjamin Percy shares insights

Don’t exaggerate

Young writers in particular rely on movies to inform their craft. A short story is a snapshot, a moment in life. It’s a unique form of writing that relies on subtlety more than exaggeration.

Ideas are born with a muse

I have a muse and essentially her name is Oregon. My stories take place there. Fiction grows out of place. Always keep your eyes open, understand where you grew up. Write about your own backyard, the place you know best.

Characters are reflections

My characters are composites of people I’ve known. Maybe a character has my grandfather’s voice and looks like someone I saw in a magazine. I always have a voice and a face in my head and try to transfer both to the page so a reader sees what I see.

Make it happen

Write at the same time, same place every day. Writing is sort of like falling into a dream. When you reach a zone, magic starts to happen. If you have a designated spot and time, it will happen that much quicker. For me, the magic hours are from 5 a.m. to noon.

Former visiting English professor Benjamin Percy is a novelist, comic writer, screenwriter & editor. Follow him @Benjamin_Percy. A version of this article appeared in the Summer ’06 issue of the Marquette Magazine.

--

--