Relationships

5 Ways You Harm Your Partner When You Are An Emotional Wreck

It is okay to be emotionally unwell but it is not okay to let it hurt your relationship

Drashti Shroff
Marriage Chronicles
6 min readSep 28, 2022

--

Photo by Charlie Foster on Unsplash

The worst time to get in a relationship is when you are an emotional wreck. In other words, when you are suffering from:

  • Anxiety
  • Insecurity
  • Self-doubt
  • Loss

Life is full of bends and turns. It is normal to experience a state of lowness, a phase that demands time to heal.

As a young woman in her mid twenties, I was tempted to date and to engage in a romantic relationship. More often than not, I used to think that finding a partner will solve a majority of my problems aka my dissatisfactions with life.

Back then, little did I know that I was wrong. It would have been a terrible mistake to find someone and build a relationship with them when I was struggling to deal with my own emotions.

In such phases of life, it is natural to feel desperate, to feel the need to have someone who would add colours to your otherwise dull life.

In a nutshell, if you are going through that phase, refrain from looking for a partner.

--

--