America, It’s Time Do Better

Sandi Hwang Adam
Marrow
Published in
2 min readNov 9, 2016

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt unsafe.

When I was a kid growing up in Virginia, I felt like there was no one on my side. When I walked home from school, my brother and I would often be targeted by bullies, for being Chinese American. I pretended like it didn’t bother me — but alone, I would cry behind closed doors and was ashamed of who I was, and then ashamed of being ashamed.

Over time, the social and ethical conscience of our country seemed to have evolved. People began to recognize and speak out on the value of diversity, the collateral damage of bullying, and the benefits of unity over hatred. Schools instituted programs promoting peacemaking. We elected our first African American President, for two terms. We had our first female presidential nominee for a major political party. I was thrilled and relieved: my kids would never have to grow up anxious just because of who they were, as young women or minorities.

Until now.

Last night, my older daughter wept because she feared that “bad things would happen”, and my younger daughter is away at a school camp, and I am wishing I could hold her close. I woke up feeling sick to my stomach.

The election has shown us that many Americans feel disenfranchised, unheard and marginalized. Those feelings and concerns are real. We all see them now.

Many of us who cast our votes for Hillary did so in part to stand up for basic human decency: against the objectification of women; against hatred and bigotry; against bullying, divisiveness and intimidation. I was never more proud of my home state of Virginia than last night.

My biggest fear is that the social fabric of American has been torn, and that we’ve undone some the progress we’ve made over the past four decades. I certainly hope that this isn’t the case; there are lots of issues in this great country, all of which we are better off fixing together.

The election is over, but there’s still time for redemption: America, let’s show the world that we can rise above the ugliness that we saw during the election. More of us voted against hatred and xenophobia than not. I recognize that some of us may have voted for Trump out of desperation, despite his rhetoric. Whatever your political views, speak out when others are needlessly attacked. Exercise that right to free speech in defense of ethics. Call out hatred and bigotry. We cannot allow our culture to degrade to the level of bullies on the 1970s school playground. We’re better than that. We can do this.

--

--