#livemoredomore

Yes, I have a slogan. I know that’s kinda weird, but let me tell you what it means to me, and what it should mean to you.

Martin Moore
Martin Moore

--

If you Google #livemoredomore you’re gonna find a whole lot of me jumping off of shit, writing about everything and anything, and basically me traveling around the world. The things is, I don’t want that Google search to be filled with just my stuff, I want your life to be intertwined with that slogan as well. I want it to mean to you, what it now means to me. See, back in my early twenties I didn’t really do much. I dropped out of college so I could work on cars. I cashed in my vacation the day it was available, and pretty much was just on auto-pilot the whole time, aside from drinking a whole lot, I wasn’t doing much of anything. Then, something happened in my late twenties. Perhaps it was meeting my wife who got me into traveling. Maybe it was when I started doing photography. Most likely, it was probably the fear of turning thirty. Whatever it was, I had an epiphany and realized I wanted to start doing something with my life. Make each day count. Make everything I did count.

All of this thinking really amplified when I finally did turn thirty. I realized the first third of my life was over. There was no going back and changing things or doing things over. What was done was done. What I didn’t want to do with the second chapter of my life was waste it. I didn’t want to just continue working as I had, I wanted to get out and see the world. See who I really was. See what I was made of. That’s when I came up with #livemoredomore. It’s my constant reminder to take chances, take risks and do things I wouldn’t normally do. Like jumping off a 60 ft. cliff in a shady rainforest in Mexico into a giant black hole in the ground. You know, safe stuff.

I had never seen the Pacific Ocean, so I went and saw it

I think traveling has been one of the single biggest things that’s defined who I am today. It used to be once a year. Then twice. Then four. Now five. As many times as I can get out and see the world, I do it. Each place I travel to makes me feel a little bit smaller, a little bit more insignificant, and I love that. The world is a big place filled with amazing people, beautiful landscapes and great culture. Experiencing all of that, even for just a few times a year, makes me feel like I am alive. Now I know what you’re thinking, traveling like that costs a lot of money, and you’re right, it does. But that’s a priority in my life, and if it’s something you would like to start experiencing as well, do what I do. Budget for it. Also, you don’t have to travel to Africa to be enriched by travel. Take a road trip somewhere. Stay in a cheap hotel or hostel. There is no right or wrong way to do it, just figure out a way to get there, and do it.

My ‘LIVE MORE, DO MORE’ bracelets. Email me at martinmoorejr@gmail.com and I’ll send you one

I have always wanted to leave something behind after I die. It’s weird I know. Some people could care less about leaving their mark but for whatever reason, I want to. It used to be music. I poured my heart and soul into it but nobody really gave a shit. Then, I got back into photography in my late twenties. It only took a couple years for that to snowball into one of my greatest passions in my adult life. I had finally found my niche. I was creating something companies and people everywhere appreciated, and respected. People wanted me to capture their memories, and they wouldn’t settle for anyone else. I’m proud of what I have accomplished as a photographer and I’m excited to see where it takes me in the coming years.

Writing on Medium has been really great for me. Writing has always been something I’ve wanted to do. When I first discovered Medium the amazing stories I read and people I got to know blew me away, and I wanted to be a part of that. You can read about my initial thoughts here ‘Medium Has Changed My Life.” Since that post I’ve written a few others that have gotten huge responses like “I Don’t Run” and “iWatch.” You can find all my other posts by following me here medium.com/@martinmoorejr. My point to all this, is this, writing is something I’ve always wanted to do. Thinking about my #livemoredomore slogan I decided to just finally do it, and it’s been great. Medium has given me the perfect creative outlet to express all my thoughts and opinions, and indulge in everyone else’s as well.

So, I got a ton of those rubber bracelets made with my slogan #livemoredomore made and I hand them out to everyone I meet. I do this because I want people who were once like me, to turn off the auto-pilot, and realize life is more than just working. Life is more than just existing. You’re not just another cog in the machine. If there is something you’ve always wanted to do, try it. If there is somewhere you’ve always wanted to go, get on Expedia and book it. As long as we as human beings think we live, our lives are very short. I understand for some people their job is their passion, and that’s fine. I personally don’t know a lot of people who make a list of the things that are most important in their life and their job is number one, but if it is, I envy you. For the rest of you, email me martinmoorejr@gmail.com and get a bracelet, wear it. Let it remind you to Live More and to Do More.

#livemoredomore Part Two (click link)

A Movie I Made Explaing What #livemoredomore Means To Me, And What It Should Mean To You.

Check out my new post “#livemoredomore Part Two” a short movie I made showing what my slogan means to me. It’s a fun one.

If you liked this you can follow my collection on Medium www.medium.com/@martinmoorejr. I enjoy writing about Travel, Technology and Photography, but not if nobody gives a shit. www.martinmoorephotography.com www.twitter.com/martinmoorejr #livemoredomore

--

--

Martin Moore
Martin Moore

Commercial/Lifestyle Photographer, Director & Filmmaker for @kossheadphones . Host of @saidnoonepod . i also vlog a bit: http://youtube.com/martinmoorejr