Rent your flat in VR

Elliot Vaucher
Marvelous Foresight
2 min readJan 21, 2020
Stefan Sekulic for Marvelous Foresight

Foreword : the purpose of these fictions is to forecast possible futures. Enjoy.

1st February 2024

Sun is shining on a February afternoon. It’s the first time I try the Beta version of the collaboration between Homegate, Oculus and Electronic Arts.

The design of the app was similar to Tinder, but in VR. Oculus headset on, I swipe flats directly with my finger. My precise criteria have restrained the offer. A flat pops up, I swipe three pictures : nice wooden floors, balcony, cozy bathroom. Kinda like it. I launch the virtual immersive visit. I stroll around the flat, as if I were inside it. The 3D was made on the flat’s architectural plans, textures, details, rendered realistically. Without furniture.

I launch the furniture extension of the app. Modern style, Italian fabrics, price range 1000–2000 £. Owh, this one’s nice. As in the SIMS, I lay down this sofa in the right corner of the living-room. A coffee table, a carpet, a few stools, armchair, string shelf. Yep, this room is neat. I save the preferences in case I get the flat, that would be a perfect start to arrange it. Ah, almost forgot something. Always test the amount of light at different moments of the day and year. Let’s try beginning of June. I scroll down the hours of the day, moving from a room to the other in order to see how light affects the place. The bedroom gets the morning sun, the living room that of noon. I send the information. My file suits the requirements, it’s a match ! Now I just need to wait for the landlord’s answer.

--

--