Nothing Lasts Forever….Thankfully

But everyone needs a little help sometime

Mary McLean Hypnotherapy
Mary McLean Writes
3 min readJan 23, 2023

--

The snow covered roads last week made driving hazardous. I dreaded the thought of driving. But sometimes needs must.

And at other times my husband drives me.

snowy street
Snowy Street

We are so lucky in Ireland that we don’t get extreme weather conditions compared to other countries. I love to travel but I never want to live anywhere except home.

So, although I dread driving on frozen snow like we had last week, I know it doesn’t last. By Saturday there was no trace of the beautiful, clean, snowy landscape or the frozen and extremely dangerous roads.

It’s the same when I have a stressful day. I know that won’t last either.

I have developed simple ways of getting myself back on track.

But I feel blessed. I know if the problem persists, I have friends who are hypnotherapists too.

One friend in particular, Margaret who trained with me, is always there for me.

And boy did I need her early last year when my cousin, who had lived a very tragic life, died at the age of just 64.

I don’t keep in touch with all my cousins. But Eileen and I were close and though she lived 200 miles away, we chatted regularly by phone, long rambling and thoroughly enjoyable phone calls.

We chatted about our children and grandchildren and everything that was current in our lives. And we loved to reminisce about long hot summer days by the sea when we were children.

I was distraught when she died and, some weeks later, I was still feeling very stressed.

Of course I called Margaret. After two hour-long sessions, I felt so much better. Last week was Eileen’s first anniversary. I still miss her and our long phone calls.

But thankfully I don’t feel that terrible stress and heart-breaking loss that I felt in those first few weeks.

Knowing I have the tools to get myself unstuck AND having someone to call when I need a little help makes life so much less stressful.

If you’re feeling stressed be kind to yourself. Life is short. Get the help you need so you can live the life you want.

If you enjoyed this article please clap, and if you don’t already follow me, I’d really appreciate it if you did.

--

--

Mary McLean Hypnotherapy
Mary McLean Writes

I love writing & I help people to reduce everyday stress. Never been hypnotised? Visit my website www.marymcleanhypnotherapy.ie to download your free audio