name

Marina Vorontsova
maryvorontsov
Published in
1 min readDec 2, 2019

i carry your heart
in my heart
i carry it in my madness
and sanity
the latter is rare but still
very there
i carry your heart in me
i plan to spend countless
nights
in your arms
because you are mine
and I’m there
yours forever
Mark
i wanted to call my son
Mark
but they said
it was too revealing
too jewish
as though everyone
would suddenly appropriate me
with jewishness
which lives in me yes
jewishness
they say they’d retaliate
come kill us again
like in 1940s
you’d better hide
pretend you never existed
a headache
so i never called
never named my son
with your name
which i love
a headache
i do love
heavens and earth
mystery
painted in watercolor
smiling excitement
from nowhere existing
a name
which I carried since birth
in me
and here you are
a frame
of a perfect male

--

--

Marina Vorontsova
maryvorontsov

I am a copywriter: I like reading and writing stories, above-average copy, and delightfully inferior poetry.