Makeup-ing it Up as We Go

Elijah Johnson
Masked Media
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2020
From https://www.dailymail.co.uk

When makeup lovers like myself heard that Ulta would be opening again I was excited. Finally, being able to touch new products in person instead of scrolling through an online store made me fall in love all over again. To see each palette, each lipstick, and everything in-between on the shelves screaming ‘pick me’ as electronic dance music blasted from the speakers was enough encouragement for me to leave the house. When I arrived at Ulta (in my mask of course) it was nothing like I had remembered.

Most of the eyeshadow palettes were covered in what looked to be in plastic wrap or just not on display while lipsticks were being held prisoner in see-through boxes. One of the products that seemed to be left out was tubes of concealer and foundation with a sign telling people to not touch the products. It felt so weird that I quickly grabbed a few things instead of doing my usual browsing and left.

Why did I even go? With mask-wearing being the new normal, a full face of makeup isn’t necessary. It’s not like anyone can see my whole face anyway. As Martha Jordan, a healthcare worker puts it, “I look at my highlighters, blushes, and lipstick and I crave them. I want to smear pretty powder on my face again!”

I do, too.

In a Harper’s Bazaar article Reena Hammer, a beauty entrepreneur and director of luxury hair and beauty salon Urban Retreat, says, “the tides are turning on thinking that beauty is just superficial.”

So how can I and other makeup enthusiasts fill the void? Skincare and eye makeup seem to be the way to do it.

In recent months there has been a big push towards people valuing skincare instead of makeup. Caroline Osterman, an avid makeup user agrees.

“I am buying more skincare backups.”

With the fear of another lockdown in her state Osterman doesn’t want to run out especially since her facewash of choice is not sold in essential stores “because it is a Primark brand.”

A survey done by IRI that was published in Happi Magazine reported that in 2020 skincare sales have totaled 4.1 billion U.S. dollars. In comparison skincare sales in 2017 only totaled about 3.7 million U.S dollars.

Skincare could become the new ‘makeup trend’, which makes sense. Foundation can transfer and sometimes even stain masks. Having healthy and clear skin would take away the need of wearing face products.

If you’re like me and enjoy playing in color instead of lotions and vitamin-c serums, eyeshadow is still a go amid COVID-19. Even more so since eyes are the only thing on my face not covered. Osterman says that since everyone herself included wears a mask she “goes all out on my eyes.”

While some have taken the mask regulations and used them to their advantage some makeup users like Holly Knapp say that she went from “doing a full face of makeup” to not wearing any makeup when leaving the house. Instead, Knapp tries new ways to apply makeup or new color combinations all at home.

“It’s oddly nice to just play with makeup.”

Makeup trends come and go, but skincare and eye shadow seem to be the thing that holds up against the mask. So, my fellow makeup lovers and I will continue to play in our beauty products even if you can only see our eyes.

--

--