24 Flavours — 12. BFF since 1984

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2020

This 24 Flavours literary journey is part of a series of writings from a few years back when Math Paper Press was actively publishing it. The series has since gone into hiatus but I’ll sharing the pieces that were written. Each piece is based on a food theme, 24 in total. I had devised mine to centre on my family, and some of the storylines are interconnected. Not all 24 stories are completed so you’ll have to check back periodically to read all of them.

“That tasted like longkang water can.” Yousheng shouted into my ear even though he was seated right beside me in the kopitiam. “I prefer my Red Tongue Dog Black Beer, and it is more macho to drink this. In fact, you will be super macho like Macho Man Randy Savage if you add in two fresh egg yolks, and gulp everything down in one shot. It is like “nap-shot-curry-pok” can. Hoi, serious, you must listen to your best friend, brother, basketball shifu, and WWF expert. I, Lan Yousheng will never fly your lallang.”

“You fucking idiot, stop your lousy translation. It is called Guinness Stout, and drinking it with two raw egg yolks will give you fucking lao sai. You will lao sai until you don’t know how to go home. You will lao sai until Singapore have no more toilet paper left to wipe your smelly lao sai backside. And who made you my basketball shifu, I don’t recall that at all. And for your information, this is called Kopi O, not longkang water. One cup a day will keep the doctor away.” Also it is time for us to go home. If not my Ma will know that I am hanging out with you again.

--

--

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press

Kenny Leck is the co-founder of BooksActually, an independent bookstore in Singapore. He also helms the publishing arm, Math Paper Press.