24 Flavours — 7. Maggie Mee

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press
Published in
2 min readJan 23, 2020
Live Long and Prosper

This 24 Flavours literary journey is part of a series of writings from a few years back when Math Paper Press was actively publishing it. The series has since gone into hiatus but I’ll sharing the pieces that were written. Each piece is based on a food theme, 24 in total. I had devised mine to centre on my family, and some of the storylines are interconnected. Not all 24 stories are completed so you’ll have to check back periodically to read all of them.

“Boy, you want tomato ketchup?”

“Yes and I want to add sausage also.”

“You want sausage then you have to go ask Ma whether can or not.”

“Ma said okay but we must leave enough for her for tomorrow’s lunch. Can help me add one egg also?”

“You very greedy leh, boy.”

“You also! Eating the same thing as me. Add tomato ketchup, one sausage and egg also. Just now you ate the last super-ripe banana too. It was so squishy, and you still ate it. This is why Ma says that your stomach is a bottomless hole.”

“Yah lah, yah lah, you go outside first. Will cook finish in less than three minutes. I will call you again.”

“You are bestest Kor ever!”

--

--

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press

Kenny Leck is the co-founder of BooksActually, an independent bookstore in Singapore. He also helms the publishing arm, Math Paper Press.