24 Flavours — 9. Clever Chicken Curry

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2020

This 24 Flavours literary journey is part of a series of writings from a few years back when Math Paper Press was actively publishing it. The series has since gone into hiatus but I’ll sharing the pieces that were written. Each piece is based on a food theme, 24 in total. I had devised mine to centre on my family, and some of the storylines are interconnected. Not all 24 stories are completed so you’ll have to check back periodically to read all of them.

“Boy, can you page your Pa to buy three chiam tao loti from downstairs when he comes back later?”

“I page him already when you were in the toilet.”

“So clever this one. Like this, you can start walking to school yourself next year when you are Primary 3. But I will still pick you up from school. How do you know I wanted you to page your Pa to buy the bread?”

“Because you are cooking chicken curry for tonight’s dinner. And I asked for an extra loaf because Kor can easily finish one by himself.”

“I am using the new super big metal pot that we bought the other day from the door-to-door salesman. I think there will be leftovers, enough for tomorrow’s lunch for the both of us. I can buy some fresh yellow noodles, and we can have chicken curry noodles.”

--

--

Kenny Leck
Math Paper Press

Kenny Leck is the co-founder of BooksActually, an independent bookstore in Singapore. He also helms the publishing arm, Math Paper Press.