Nananananananana… Mathadam! Several parabolas and a few quartics.

How I Graphed My Logo On Desmos

Inspired by the Batman Equation, I tried my hand at this mathematical artform.

Adam Hrankowski, ADHD
MathAdam
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Nearly a decade ago, a user named a_hardin posted to the Mathematics Stack Exchange: Is this Batman Equation for Real? The question gained 466 upvotes before moderators closed it. The accepted solution, by ShreevatsR received 1085 upvotes for its magnificent dissection of the equation.

I have often wondered if I, myself, am capable of such mathematical acrobatics. So I finally tried. Here are my results.

My image consists mostly of parabolas and a few quartics. I broke the image down into eleven strokes. By restricting the domains (or ranges) of the functions, and tweaking the equations, I was able to generate the desired curves.

--

--

Adam Hrankowski, ADHD
MathAdam

Canadian math guy, experimenting with fiction. Find my new scifi/fantasy serial here: https://unaccompaniedminor.substack.com/