Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries
Apr 29, 2021

BOOKS I READ: Collected Stories I (1967) by Muriel Spark. Twenty-one short stories, each one engaging from the first paragraph. Some continue to rise through to the end. A few fall a little short, but each ride is worth it. My favorites were, “The Portobello Road,” “The Twins,” and “The House of the Famous Poet.” All have in common a haunting supernatural presence. Many of the stories have a musty, mid-twentieth-century feel, some have the malodor of colonialism.

Astute yet solitary women (and girls) are central to many stories, antagonists in some, as in “The Dark Glasses,” a story about seeing, really seeing.

NB: using Medium’s shortform posts to chain my recent reads. Go to previous book:

--

--

Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries

I’m a NYC-based writer of personal stories, short stories, and poems that are often influenced by my birthplace, Santa Fe de Bogotá.