Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries
2 min readApr 23, 2024

--

BOOKS I READ: The Best American Short Stories 2023 selected by Min Jin Lee (2023). Min Jin Lee’s outstanding introduction starts off this collection of twenty short stories. Discussing writing and writers, she notes the work and patience needed to succeed, and why she is compelled to help other writers. She makes special note of congratulating the writers of the many short stories that were considered for this volume but not selected.

The short story collection took me much longer to read than a typical novel. I found it necessary to take a little time after each story, in order to be ready to take on the next one. It’s hard to pick some favorites, but “The Master Mourner” by Benjamin Ehrlich, Lauren Groff’s “Annunciation,” and “Grand Mal” by Joanna Pearson stayed with me longer than the others. Of these, I plan to reread “Grand Mal” in the near future, just to see if it captures me the way it did the first time.

Book cover for The Best American Short Stories 2023, editor Min Jin Lee
Book cover for The Best American Short Stories 2023

Pick up a copy of The Best American Short Stories 2023 at my Bookshop.org affiliate stand. Check out The Books I’m Reading in 2024. The previous log entry was:

--

--

Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries

I’m a NYC-based writer of personal stories, short stories, and poems that are often influenced by my birthplace, Santa Fe de Bogotá.