Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries
Feb 12, 2021

BOOKS I READ: The Transit of Venus (1980) by Shirley Hazzard. The book follows Caroline and Grace, Australian orphans whose lives are capsized more than once.

A deeply layered book, with enough folds to hold atrocious characters and saints, TToV is the kind of book that you have to re-read to scrape away at the depth of Hazzard’s genius. After finishing it, I had to find essays about how others grappled with its immensity. I found a handful. Matthew Specktor is “hard-pressed to think of a better novel” (The Paris Review, 2016); and Charlotte Wood’s extraordinary essay discusses her re-readings (Sydney Review of Books, 2015).

NB: trying out Medium’s shortform posts to chain my recent reads. Follow the chain; go to previous book:

--

--

Mauricio Matiz
The Ink Never Dries

I’m a NYC-based writer of personal stories, short stories, and poems that are often influenced by my birthplace, Santa Fe de Bogotá.