Yuri Oliveira
matsya
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2018

--

My head doesn’t stop thinking. I ask myself at all times if what I’m doing is the right thing to do, if I’m on the right path and what is my path.
I’m always taking into account my wishes and expectations with the ones from my dear ones and the people I deal with in everyday life. I’m always thinking about how to continue to be happy and helping others to become happy as well.

“photography of girl wearing multicolored floral collared top” by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Last Wednesday, for example, I went to an event about Education, Disruption and Technology that kept me thinking about it. To begin with, all the speakers were businessmen, most of them engineers and it looked like they worship Mathematics. Why should we invite only businessmen and engineers to talk about innovation, education and technology in the first place?

What I saw then was the same old pattern: white men from the market trying to accommodate the same old subjects into the new technologies available. All the examples given by them were about the importance of showing the real-life applications of Math to kids, like using robots to explain why is the Pythagorean theorem so important.

I didn’t hear at any moment about how important and disruptive is to stimulate critical thinking in kids and adolescents or how to facilitate the understanding of where they are in society.

Where are Literature and Arts classes in the disruptive education? How can they connect the past, present and future? How can they learn to think about it? And how can they learn to create something new?

Even in the Technology field today the most respected people are the ones who are able to evaluate and analyse different tools, propose creative solutions and transmit knowledge to the others. Videogames show us that the ones who are good at storytelling can hold everybody’s attention.

During this event, my head didn’t stop as well. I kept thinking on how traditional and ‘modern’ schools still work to shape consumers, ‘good’ employees and passive agents of our societies. And I keep thinking now what would be the best way to offer our younger ones the chance to see life beyond college or university exams, beyond ‘safe’ and traditional professions.

I don’t know what it is, but I keep thinking.

--

--