Finding Happiness in Mandalay

Matt Roebuck
Matt Roebuck
Published in
2 min readNov 1, 2014

Okpechi Happiness stands well over six-feet tall and is wearing a singlet vest that displays his bulging biceps. But as the grinning and God-fearing footballer sits down, one cannot help but sense a nominative determination at play in the central defender from Mandalay-based Yandarbon FC.

Born in Abia State, southeastern Nigeria, the name Happiness derives from the apparent good fortune his family experienced after his conception. Previously a poor family, his father found a better job and there was more food on the table after Happiness was born.

Happiness

“When I was born I wasn’t crying, I was laughing,” said Happiness, smiling. “I love to be happy. For me it’s very difficult to be unhappy.”

Happiness continues to have good reason for the smile on his face. Yandarbon FC topped this year’s Myanmar National League, a feat due in no small part to the tight defensive unit that Happiness directed. In 22 games Yandarbon FC conceded only 16 goals.

It was not just rock solid defending that did the trick. The Almighty also played his part, says Happiness.

“I visited the praying Buddha and prayed to God to help us be champions. We have many wonderful people here, but it is by the grace of God. Not by the coach or the players.”

Football has always been in his blood and it was his way out of Africa.

“I remember thinking I hadn’t travelled,” Happiness said. “Many of my friends went by road to Europe, many lost their lives. I knew one day in this life I will travel, but I will go by air. I tried my best and God also helped me.”

After playing for clubs in Benin and Bahrain, Happiness was recruited by the Mandalay team. How does Myanmar compare?

“The standard is high. People in Bahrain don’t love football like in Myanmar. The fans here are wonderful. I haven’t seen people like that even in Nigeria. They are committed for 90 minutes and help boost your morale. We have the strongest fans in Myanmar; about 10,000 to 12,000 a game.”

In his leisure time, Happiness likes to sleep, play pool and watch Spanish football on television. He lives in the team hotel and misses cooking for himself but enjoys strolling on the streets of Mandalay,

“When I pass people say: ‘Can I take a photo?’ Sometimes they call me by name, sometimes they only know my number.”

Happiness says playing in Europe is his dream, but if he continues his career at Yandarbon FC he’ll still be happy.

This Article first appeared in Mizzima Weekly.

--

--