The greatest club you never want to be part of

Matt Roebuck
Matt Roebuck
Published in
1 min readJul 28, 2016

As I lay awake I could hear every deep breath. With every miraculous inhale of air I reflected on what I had seen that week in Gothenburg.

In the twin bed next to me was Nick Condon, golfer, athlete, transplant recipient. He was just one of the hundreds of the most welcoming and inspirational people I have ever met — the competitors of the 2011 World Transplant Games.

Vantaa, Finland has just hosted the European Transplant and Dialysis Games. Next year Malaga will host the biannual World event.

Today marks the beginning of Liverpool’s hosts the annual British Transplant Games. If you are anywhere in the locality of Merseyside I urge you to make your way there. At the very least make it to the Athletics events at Wavertree on Sunday.

There numerous worthy reasons for the importance of this event. Firstly, they encourage transplant recipients to regain fitness, secondly, they aim to increase awareness of the benefits of transplantation and to convince YOU to join the organ donation register.

The Games are also a thank you to families of donors, many of whom are treated the events VIPs.

Most of all the Games are a celebration of the gift of life.

It’s the greatest club you never want to be part of.

--

--