Day 8

Zwolle ➝ Grou

Matthew Goff
Mattdrea Abroad

--

Today’s post is going to be fairly brief. I’m really tired, sweaty, and smelly.

Today was pretty uneventful while being very busy at the same time. Pretty much the entire day was preparation for the wedding tomorrow. We woke up and first thing was start the cake pops. I didn’t really do anything to help, too many cooks in the kitchen if you know what I mean. A couple of Anette’s friends from Norway were there, along with Andrea and Dayle. While that was happening I was writing my post for my stint in Amsterdam yesterday.

Around 2 we packed up and finished up the cake pops and at 3 we got on the road, heading north toward Ouren’s mom’s house. It was HOT, and without air-conditioning in the car it was even worse. We had a breeze going through the car for a little while, until we hit traffic because of a bad car accident. Then the breeze went away and we were basically melting as fast as the cake pops on our laps. We got past the crash and the breeze came back and we napped until our destination.

We got to Ouren’s mom’s house around 5 and basically sat around outside where it was cooler for the better part of an hour-and-a-half while we were waiting for people and dinner. It was mostly fun to sit and listen to people talk in Dutch and Norwegian, but it started to get isolating after a while. We ate dinner, pasta with meatballs, vegetables, and a makeshift pizza, and then the bridal party rehearsed the dance they are going to do down the aisle tomorrow. It’s to Bruno Mars’ I Think I Wanna Marry You. It’ll be fun to watch because white people can’t dance and everybody is white.

After the dance rehearsal we went into the town where we’re staying and found the hostel. We got our room key, dropped off our stuff, and then Andrea and I went and got some ice cream (I got stracciatella (chocolate chip) and cappuccino and Andrea got lemon). We walked around the little village of Grouw while we ate and then returned to the hostel.

Now we’re in bed and believe me when I say that it is way. too. hot. Also, there’s a bunch of youths staying here that won’t be quite, AND some sort of festival with loud music; so that’s not too much fun…

Until tomorrow, goodnight.

--

--

Matthew Goff
Mattdrea Abroad

@aandreagrace lover, music maker, wretched treasure.