Living and Dying on Airbnb

My dad died in an Airbnb rental, and he’s not the only one. What can the company do to improve safety?

Zak Stone
Matter

--

Photo-illustrations by Matter

TThe rope swing looked inviting. Photos of it on Airbnb brought my family to the cottage in Texas. Hanging from a tree as casually as baggy jeans, the swing was the essence of leisure, of Southern hospitality, of escape. When my father decided to give it a try on Thanksgiving morning, the trunk it was tied to broke in half and fell on his head, immediately ending most of his brain activity.

I was in bed when my mom found him. Her screams brought me down to the yard where I saw the tree snapped in two and his body on the ground. I knelt down and pulled him up by the shoulders. Blood sprayed my blue sweatshirt and a few crumpled autumn leaves. We were face-to-face, but his head hung limply, his right eye dislodged, his mouth full of blood, his tongue swirling around with each raspy breath.

What do you do in this situation? I grabbed a washcloth and started mopping up his leaking face. I told my sister not to come outside. She faints when there’s blood.

“Tell me each time he takes a breath,” the 911 dispatcher said in my ear.

“He’s breathing in; he’s breathing out. He’s breathing in; he’s breathing out.” Saying it aloud like a…

--

--