The Nod: A Subtle Lowering of the Head You Give to Another Black Person in an Overwhelmingly White Place

Musa Okwonga
Matter
Published in
4 min readOct 16, 2014

--

By Musa Okwonga
Illustration by Daniel Zender

If you’re a black person who has ever visited a place where there aren’t many other black people, then you will be familiar with The Nod. The Nod is just that: An almost imperceptible lowering of the head toward any other black person you might encounter on your travels through, say, Slovakia or Russia.

Yet The Nod is also so much more than that: It’s a swift yet intimate statement of ethnic solidarity. The Nod is saying, “Wow, well, I really didn’t expect to see another one of us out here, but you seem to be doing your thing just fine. More power to you, and all the very best.”

The Nod is something that several white friends of mine often find bewildering. A few years ago, as I walked down a street in Italy with a friend, a black man looked at me and gave a small, stern bow before making his way off. “Who was that?” my friend asked. “Did you know him?”

Her incredulous expression made it seem as if I was part of some mysterious cabal.

I shook my head, no, I didn’t know him; but, in a sense, I did. He was bearing witness to the same thing that I was, which is what you might call “the geography of…

--

--

Musa Okwonga
Matter

Poet, sportswriter; author, musician; journalist, broadcaster, communications adviser. BBC, The FT, MSN, ESPN on #MUFC, The Blizzard, The Independent and more.