Part 1: The Introduction

Matthew Risinger
Matthew_Risinger_WP2
3 min readDec 8, 2020

Well, here we go. Graphic design is something that is easy for me to talk about, but often feels like a whole lot of nothing when I discuss it. I’ve told this origin story countless times, and tried to stick to the same story as I’ve gotten older. Obviously, new variables have complicated the way this gets retold. But for now, let’s head to the beginning.

I never liked art. I failed those classes throughout elementary and middle school. I often ignored directions, got frustrated at the arts and crafts aspect of art, or did something completely different than my class — or so I am told, I don’t remember these experiences very well. My parent teacher meetings always looked the same. “Matthew is great to have in class, everyone loves him and he gets along with fellow classmates, but he is often distracted and talks too much. Plus, he can’t seem to follow directions.” It was all old hat to my parents. They knew what they signed up for, raising an outgoing bald kid who relies on humor to make friends. They’d much rather have it that way than the way I was from the ages of 4–9. I would barely speak then. Being bald is tough in elementary school, kids tease you for the stupidest shit. It’s not like I choose to be bald, it just kinda fell out.

I always liked music and playing in band, so I knew I wasn’t just bad at art. It was something else. Maybe the rigid way art is taught or that it was seen as a non-serious class to the school board (which is totally fine, art should be fun. It isn’t a joke though.) or the teachers they had leading us. Either way, it was theatre, rainbow trees, and middle school that introduced me to what has become my career path.

I was in 6th grade, playing Guard #2 in the musical Aladdin. My fellow guardsmen was a tall, lanky kid who was always playing on his phone. I didn’t speak much to him at first, but as we realized this musical was less about being on stage and more about meeting one another, we caved and began to talk. He taught me all about his Instagram and this new app called PhotoFilter which let you put effects (or Fx, as the kids call it) on photos you took. This is so cool! So revolutionary. So bravado. I had to try it myself. Insert Part 1: The Introduction.

--

--