My Journey

Matt Sharpe
Matthew Sharpe
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2017

Growing up in the small resource town of Campbell River, BC you were either playing Hockey, or on the bench. Being a small kid with worried parents, I was neither.

My first Triathlon was the Comox Valley Tri-K at age 10 and it was a nice diversion from competitive swimming. At 13 after becoming disillusioned with my ever-growing competitors I decided to compete as a full-time Triathlete.

Yes, I enjoyed winning that much.

I raced Kids Of Steel Triathlons, enjoyed the success, and the time spent with my family.

The move to Junior Elite racing coincided with a move to Southern Vancouver Island and Triathlon mecca; Victoria, BC. I began training with the National Center and started my journey as a high performance athlete.

I experienced more success as a junior, winning the Junior National Championships in 2010 and finishing 9th at the 2010 ITU Junior World Championships. I really valued the opportunities to see the country and establish connections that few my age had experienced.

Entering elite racing has seen its ups and downs. Winning my first ITU race at 19 was huge confidence boost and validation I was on the correct path. At 22 I began training with the Wollongong Wizards. I spent my time training in Australia and Spain for the next two years where I was fortunate to learn from an Olympic medal-winning coach, Jamie Turner.

After a significant injury in early 2015 I returned to Canada, and with the support of my parents I was able to continue pursuing my dreams. The summer of 2015 was a chance for me to reconnect with my community in Victoria and create my own pathway to success. Off of my own coaching I returned to racing where I was able to achieve two top ten results in competitive European races. I had significant momentum as I built towards my next event.

Unfortunately I was hit by a car, but luckily I had no major injuries. My momentum had slowed down, but I had still laid the groundwork for future success.

With a new coach, Jono Hall, also with an Olympic medal to his name, I was able to find the consistency I’d been searching for. Success quickly followed. The 2016 season was a whirlwind that in the end saw me podium at a World Cup, jump over 100 positions in the world rankings, and finish the season with no major injuries.

My future goals include winning a medal at a major games, enjoying consistent success at the highest levels, and being a leader within my sport.

--

--

Matt Sharpe
Matthew Sharpe

Vancouver Island boy born in Campbell River, residing in Victoria. Canadian National Triathlon Team. Loves having Coffee with you. Beer too.