Featured Poems for 11/5/20

Matthew Spira
Matthew Spira
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readNov 5, 2020
Photo by Gregory Pappas on Unsplash

TO MY LOVER
Why don’t we sleep
and see what kind of world
we wake up to in the morning?

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

TO MY LOVER (REDUX)
Well, my dear, the world IS on fire.
But we don’t have to try to deal
with any of it, at least not just yet.
So I’m going to pull you in closer
and let you sleep until you wake.
Maybe we try again tomorrow.

Photo by Isaac Viglione on Unsplash

TO MY LOVER: DESIRE (IN MIDDLE AGE)
Middle age is about being many days, months, and years
down the road from the “happily ever after.”
A road that for many of us winds through the foothills
of early career and life choices.
The lush valleys of mating rituals.
The climb of procreating.
The ascension out of the thinning tree-lines
of life not going quite as expected.
Into the tricky rocks of career, relationship,
and family challenges. Searching for the path forward,
of making it all work; one that avoids the avalanches.
And sometimes it doesn’t.
So here we are.

In a little cabin somewhere in the wilderness.
Snow coming down, the fire crackling.
Making love, just you and me.
The world outside? That’s for tomorrow.

Credit: Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

TO MY LOVER: LUST (IN MIDDLE AGE)
Feel
my hunger
for you.
So what
if our bodies
aren’t
the hard bodies
of our youth?
Fuck it.

Your squishy body
my squishy body
squishing together
joyous
unashamed
unfettered
fucking.

Your desire
meeting
my need
for you.

If you enjoyed the poems, please check out more of my poetry at Matthew Spira’s Poetry. My first collection, The End of the Rainbow, on sale now. Thank you for reading!

ABOUT MATTHEW SPIRA’S POETRY
My publication contains my poetry and stories. I tend to focus more on people than things, but I write about a wide variety of topics and moods. I am especially interested in the military/veteran experience, (single) parenting, and the bemusement of middle age.

--

--

Matthew Spira
Matthew Spira

Middle-aged dude. Combat veteran & single father. Eclectic career. Poet.