Featured Poems for 9/24/20

Matthew Spira
Matthew Spira
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readSep 24, 2020
Photo by Kevin Erdvig on Unsplash

ON THE DRIVE TO SCHOOL
I love you, I said quietly
to my pre-teen daughter
after one of our arguments.
She was looking out the window
with her headphones on,
this allowed us to pretend
she didn’t hear me.

Photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash

BIRTHRIGHT
My daughter
in the living room
with her friends
loudly laughing.
In my room
my door closed
at my desk
outside the joy
of their youth
unrestrained.

I smile, the thought
thirty years hence
perhaps they
will be sitting
like me now
listening
to their children
carry forth
the exuberance
that should be
the birthright
of every new
generation.

If you enjoyed the poems, please check out more of my poetry at Matthew Spira’s Poetry. My first collection, The End of the Rainbow, on sale now. Thank you for reading!

ABOUT MATTHEW SPIRA’S POETRY
My publication contains my poetry and stories. I tend to focus more on people than things, but I write about a wide variety of topics and moods. I am especially interested in the military/veteran experience, (single) parenting, and the bemusement of middle age.

--

--

Matthew Spira
Matthew Spira

Middle-aged dude. Combat veteran & single father. Eclectic career. Poet.