#DrewsViews: 4 Benefits to Trying Medical Marijuana

Matthew's Place
Matthew’s Place
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2021

by Andrew Adams

A few months ago, I got a medical marijuana card. I was struggling with my ADHD, and I didn’t yet have access to medications for it, and I was struggling with anxiety more being in quarantine. The medical marijuana has helped me a ton, so if it is available in your state, I’d look into it as an option for you. Here are 4 benefits and reasons why getting your medical marijuana card might be a good idea for you!

The dispensaries work with you!

Most dispensaries understand that this is your medicine, and will help you find what works for you! Don’t like a product you purchased? Many dispensaries will exchange it for something else without any hassle, even if you just didn’t like it for whatever reason.

Medical marijuana is holistic!

I have been on several different medications for my various mental health issues, and they have helped a lot, but they don’t cover everything. My Zoloft covers my OCD, and my Adderall covers my ADHD, but I still have occasional struggles, or symptoms that linger even after my morning pills. Medical Marijuana is like an umbrella for me- it covers everything that the pills miss.

The discounts offset the cost of getting the card.

Worried about the cost of seeing a doctor and getting the card? Most dispensaries will have tons of discounts for new patients, and even deals like $75 off your first purchase every time you renew the card, because that is the cost of the card where I live.

There are a ton of options.

It seems like every day they are coming up with new products. The have fast acting forms, like smokable flower and cartridges, longer lasting forms, like edibles, and even things like capsules, gels, and topical creams. Want something energizing instead of tiring? They have different products that do different things too! Ask the people what they recommend for whatever your particular desires are.

Medical marijuana is a new and developing field of medicine, and there is a long way to go until it is accessible to everyone. The benefits are wonderful though, especially for my mental health problems. If you are struggling, maybe consider looking into it! Of course, it isn’t a replacement for other medicines, but it might help! You never know!

About the Author:

Andrew Adams is a transgender college sophomore at the University of Central Florida who is committed to LGBTQ advocacy at the local and national levels. Nationally, Andrew serves as a youth ambassador and advocacy volunteer for The Trevor Project, a youth social media ambassador for the Matthew Shepard Foundation, and a Volunteer and Intern Coordinator for Point of Pride. On the legislative side, Andrew lobbies for the Equality Act by visiting with his Congressional representatives and their staff.

Additionally, Andrew has spent years fighting to change his school district’s bathroom policy to be trans-inclusive, and the fight is still ongoing. Andrew is an International Baccalaureate student and a volunteer at the Mayo Clinic, and he hopes to go to medical school and become an adolescent psychiatrist specializing in transgender health. For fun, he practices Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, creates sculpture art and plays the piano.

--

--

Matthew's Place
Matthew’s Place

MatthewsPlace.com is a program of the Matthew Shepard Foundation| Words by & for LGBTQ+ youth | #EraseHate | Want to submit? Email mpintern@mattheshepard.org