Netflix and No Chill

Matt Blank
Learning Machine
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2017

Quick poll!

Raise your hand (at least mentally…indulge me) if you struggle to exercise regularly because of your long hours, unpredictable schedule, and most-interesting-person-in-the-world type social life that leaves you with better things to do in your day.

Now, keep your hand raised if you also watch an hour of Netflix every night.

If your hand’s still up, don’t worry — you’re in the vast majority of the population*. I interviewed a number of people about their exercise routines, and 80% of the people I spoke with blame their schedule on their inconsistent routine. However, 83% of those same people still find time to watch Netflix every night. Go figure.

Rather than fight a losing battle in turning my friends into morning people to fit exercise into their daily routines, I decided to come up with a more creative solution to incorporate fitness into an activity they already do every day: watch Netflix. It seems like a silly solution, but it turns out that a lot of people signed up to get fit while they ‘flix!

What also occurred to me is that even people who exercise regularly only spend about 2% (about 4 hours) of their week working out. The rest of the time is filled with many hours hunching over tables, sleeping, and…yes…Netflix.

With that in mind, I’m going to use this space as a way to share creative solutions on fitting healthy habits into your existing schedule. I’ll start day 1 with the 22-minute workout I made to let my friends sneak a workout into an episode of Netflix:

Have any healthy hacks you’d like to pass on? Shoot ’em my way, and I’ll feature them in an upcoming post!

*Potentially insignificant sample size, but still…

--

--

Matt Blank
Learning Machine

Teaching entrepreneurs to code their own products @ likeiamfive.com, studying @ Harvard Business School