MATURITY INC

Fun Creative Ways to Motivate Your Challenged Child

People are shocked when I tell them my son is not medicated for ADHD

MLinda Writes
MATURITY INC

--

Pretty sky-blue neon green background with my son Anthony sitting in the middle in front of the laptop making music. Cortana there are two kittens and butterflies and bees in the background on a pretty cloudy day.
Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

EPIC MELTDOWN in 3…2…1…

"Mommy WAAAAAHHHH!!!! (Anthony's faces below) I don't wanna go inside!!"

Having ADHD is hard enough for many individuals, and I offer complete support. Add Cystic Fibrosis, and you have a party; both are too difficult for my nine-year-old son to handle some days.

I've found different activities to make staying on task more accessible and fun. After nine years, with Anthony, I have learned quite a lot!

Below are sure fireproof ways to help parents of children with special needs stay on task.

Staying on task is very difficult for children with ADHD. Below is a meltdown my son Anthony had after I said it was time to go inside since it was hot in Florida that day.

Image of my son Anthony wearing a black and green shirt crying in front of pretty flowers because he does not want to go inside from playtime.
Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

The rewards system that changed everything

I reminded Anthony that he would not earn reward stamps by acting this way, and he instantly settled down.

What stamps am I talking about? These below! This book is the bee's knees, and I made it myself!

Creativity runs in the family; we love finding new and creative ways to learn and grow together.

I created his medical passport book on December 23rd, 2022, to help Anthony manage and stay motivated with his cystic fibrosis and ADHD.

After almost one year of use, I am astounded by the changes that took place immediately with consistent use. I'm proud to display it to all of you today.

Image of various activities that I use to help my son with his ADHD and cystic fibrosis. There is a colorful tub full of 10s and stamps as well as construction books and a picture of Anthony with a special sign that has his name. 
Next to the blue bin, he has positive affirmation cards so that he can continue to focus on the good things. There is the scraps basket and another bin showing the stampers up close.
Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

It's super easy to create!

How to use the medical passport book and make a creative routine for your child:

  • Each stamp is worth fifty cents. That's a great deal for a kid!
  • Anthony can save his stamps, go to the store, and spend them after reaching 5 dollars or higher. Five below, here we come!
  • If he wants his prize that day, he must earn four to five stamps for an achievable goal.
  • Different pins for your cork board make decorating and reminders fun! We currently have fall pins up.
  • This scraps basket is an all-time favorite way for Anthony to throw out his little scraps when he's busy creating. I used it from an easter basket we got this year. :)

Consistent prizes and rewards are a part of our routine, and it’s working.

For this damage I have a good boy jar which it’s filled with treats for Anthony to pick on good days as calendar so that he stays motivated along with the computer pass but he can only get after he finishes his homework and chores.
Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

The good boy jar (mini prizes and candy) is pictured above, along with his calendar for continuous motivation and support.

Why do I say constant prizes and rewards?

This is because most children with ADHD get bored with things quickly. They need a constant circle of different and engaging activities to keep them occupied. (This awesome article explains more if you’re into research like me).

It's nice to remind them of what they do right and not only redirect what they're doing wrong.

It affects their self-esteem. :(

Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

The use of fidgets, timers, and a feelings book for expression:

I've cared for children with ADHD from a young age and studied educational psychology to better my comprehension and understanding of how a child learns best.

I've noticed using a timer helps to keep Anthony on task versus all over the place, and he loves that it gives him independence.

He enjoys it when I craft him silly and colorful cards with our favorite show characters from Scooby Doo, Where are you?

He also enjoys sensory things to fidget with.

When Anthony's feeling down, he uses his feelings book to communicate what is wrong.

I've tried several methods from stores and reading other parents' blogs; this is the best prize and awards routine I've found works for him.

People are shocked when I tell them my son is not medicated for ADHD, thanks to these tips.

Poor buddy has enough medicines to take (about 16 different things; I'll post on those too soon).

Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

Mail time and creative corners

Anthony loves writing and reading (I wonder who he learned to be like that from).

We like to mail each other thoughtful things, drawings, updates, and ideas for the week.

The drawings can be completed without needing to be completed because they symbolize our never-ending learning journey.

Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

Colorful walls all year round

There is a corkboard we use decorated with assorted pins. Currently, it is decorated for the fall. The corkboard helps to motivate and generate positive behavior.

This helps his motivation levels immensely and keeps him on task. He is waiting till October 1st to decorate his mailbox. I can't wait to see what he does this Sunday!

We have to laminate severe addiction. The positive affirmation wall that helps my son with his sensory issues and ADHD keeps him succeeding and winning.

Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

Success!

I noticed Anthony started logging down the medicines he had to take, and he started feeling more optimistic about them. He is quite the scientist who studies what the medications do to his body.

It was also fun because he participated in his care by creating his medical guide and routine.

I know it's tough on him, and I wish we could swap lives. I never stop creating things that will improve his life.

Spending time together is one of the best feelings; even though we don't always see eye to eye (my sour patch kid), that's okay.

Anthony makes awards for himself for mini accomplishments he is proud of. He gets excited when I hang them up for others to see.

This helps motivate him to complete tasks and keep progressing toward his goals. I hope this article helps you or someone you know with ADHD or a medical illness today. I'll keep you updated throughout the year to see what else Anthony has achieved!

I would greatly appreciate it if you subscribe to my blog. You’ll always catch a great story!

Click here to subscribe; thank you! 💛 💚 💙😊

Images belong to the author Marlenny Linda and were crafted using Canva.

~Marlenny Linda writes, free yourself 💚

Leave a comment READ for READ!

Please and Thank you!

LinkedIn

Twitter

💛 💚 💙😊

ALWAYS WITH ❤

You can find us @ Fb, Fb Support Group, IG, Twitter, YouTube and our official website, www.maturityinc.com

© 2023 Maturity Inc

FOLLOW SUBSCRIBE WRITE4 VISIT MATURITY INC

NOTICE: The information contained in this blog is for educational and entertainment purposes only. It is not intended to replace professional advice for your situation. Please consult with a qualified professional for advice specific to your situation. The views expressed on this blog are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of any affiliated organizations.

--

--

MLinda Writes
MATURITY INC

Hello friends! I am a content writer with expertise in Parenting a child with medical conditions. I find creative solutions to everyday parenting problems.