Working From Home In Maupin

todgru
Maupin Living
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2020
Rainbow over the Deschutes River, Maupin, Oregon

Working from home in Maupin has never been easier. High speed fiber internet, comfortable climate, and friendly people. All of this has made it possible for me to work and live here.

I’ve found that my routine, communication techniques, office space and health choices are the four areas I need to consider to succeed at working from home.

Here’s how I do it:

Routine

  • I wake up at a regular hour every day. Enjoy that sun rising over Bakeoven Road.
  • Part of my routine is making coffee in the morning. A nice lunch around noon.
  • Prepare to “go to the office”. I wear regular street clothes, not my pajamas!
  • Keep a normal work schedule. I don’t work weekends. My workday starts about 9am, ends about 5pm.

Communication

  • I keep my calendar up to date. I add events that indicate I’m out to lunch, having a meeting.
  • Maintain a weekly one on one with manager. Video is often better.
  • We use Slack for our online chat program. Sometimes MS Teams.
  • In my line of work, a few times a week, we post to a “status” channel letting the rest of the team know our progress and any blockers.
  • I have opportunities to go the corporate office every few weeks. I make sure I get one on one time with colleagues.

Space

  • Office space. I have a desk in a quiet corner of the finished basement. Far enough from the rest of the activities in the house.
  • Ideally, I only use this space is for work.
  • I use a laptop. I have a second monitor, external keyboard and mouse.
  • Desk ergonomics!
  • Adjustable standing desk and standing mat. I alternate between sitting and standing throughout the day. Which leads to final topic, Health!

Health

  • Exercise! Whether its yard work, splitting wood, fishing or walking around town, I keep moving.
  • About an hour after lunch, I take a 30 minutes walk. This is usually a trip down to the Deschutes River. It’s nice to get some fresh air!
  • Eat healthy! It’s not hard to make healthy food choices these days.
  • Drink plenty of water.

This wraps up the core of how I succeed working from home. If you have any tricks that you use to help you get the job done, please let me know!

--

--