“The Kingdom of God is among you.”

Mavelyn Gray
Mave Thoughts
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2015

Do you believe it? I mean really believe it? Do you believe really and truly that God’s most holy and powerful Kingdom dwells within your being??

I wonder how my life would be different if I really believed this. I’d probably be kinder to myself. I probably wouldn’t be so self-critical or judgmental. I probably wouldn’t be so critical or judgmental of others. I’d probably be happier. If I believed the Kingdom of God were really within me, I’d probably be content to be present to that Kingdom. To just be. I’m sure I’d be better at living in the present moment. I’d be at peace.

Do we really believe the Kingdom of God is among us? Not just within our souls but also in the collective sense of the communities of our family, our friends, and those around us.

The Kingdom of God is here. Now. Do we have eyes to see it? Or are we constantly seeking the next thing? “Look, here it is! There it is!” our actions say over the latest idea, that additional person to follow, the newest thing you should do that claims to make you beautiful, fit, finally have it all together, and be completely liked and accepted by everyone. I think if we really believed the Kingdom of God is within us, our behaviors, attitudes, and actions might be a bit different than they are now.

In the First Reading, I can’t help but want all those words about Wisdom to be a description of myself. “Intelligent, holy, unique, agile, beneficent, kindly, firm, secure, tranquil . . . “ all those words would make up one heck of a beautiful and strong woman!

We have the model of this woman in Mary, our Blessed Mother. For she truly is “the refulgence of eternal light, the spotless mirror of the power of God, the image of his goodness.” Mother Mary guides us to have the wisdom to recognize the Kingdom of God among us. She who carried Jesus Incarnate within her womb, can help us to see this Kingdom that also dwells within us. She can help us recognize and identify the beauty God has placed within each of us. She can help us live in the present moment. She can help us be at peace.

[Tweet “Do we really believe the Kingdom of God is among us?”]

How would your life be different if you believed God truly dwells within you? Would you experience more peace? What action can you take today to be more aware of God’s presence within you?

--

--