Houston: We Have Landing

Maxwell You
maxyou
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2018

When you visit a majority of websites for applications these days, you’re presented with a landing page that gives you a basic overview of the app. The information presented on these landing pages may include info on how to use the app and/or the features it has. Check out some of the landing pages for Spotify, Apple Music, Soundcloud, and Pandora:

From these landing pages, you can see that there isn’t a wall of text presented to us. Instead, they focus on the visuals of graphics to draw in our attention. The design is overall clean and gives people a good idea of what the application does just from looking at the landing page.

Now, let’s contrast these landing pages with mine for Spotify Voice’s:

Quite the looker if I do say so myself

As you can see, the landing page for Spotify Voice is pretty bland and boring. The design has a ton of unused empty space that leaves much to be desired and there are no graphics of any sort. Not only that, but you have no idea what my app does by just looking at this page, besides the one-liner: “Listen to music unbiased.” It would be nice if people were presented with a more useful and better looking landing page.

Bracing for Landing

After using my app for a while, I couldn’t bear to look at my boring landing page any further: so, I decided to revamp the damn thing.

Through looking at other music applications’ landing pages, I decided I would at least need to include the following: a call-to-action button, a graphic of some sort, and a brief overview of Spotify Voice’s features.

A Call To Action

The call-to-action button is what I would describe as the button you want people to click to get access to your app. It needs to be fairly large and eye-catching. It is also usually paired with a tagline to grab the user’s attention. After getting some inspiration from how Spotify’s button styles, I came up with this:

Damn, it already looks better!

A Graphic of Some Sort

I couldn’t think of any interesting still images to use for my landing page without resorting to a collage of album covers: how unoriginal! I was thinking of creating a graphic myself through Photoshop, but I wasn’t sure exactly what design I would make: I guess I’m not that creative. So, I skipped this aspect of my landing page until I figured out the brief overview of features.

A Brief Overview of Features

When looking at landing pages, the last thing you want to see is walls of text. After all, this is the first page people see when they visit your app. If you throw a boatload of text at them first thing, they will leave immediately: the Internet has ruined our attention span. With this in mind, I thought about the three most interesting features of my app and typed up some brief descriptions for them. You can be the judge of how brief they are:

Back to the Graphic

After writing up the features of Spotify Voice, I had the idea of adding a video of how liking a song would work. This would give some insight into how the app worked in one regard, and people also love watching videos right?

You might remember this video from one of my previous blog posts

Organizing 101

Now that I assembled all the pieces, it was time to figure out how to present the information on my landing page. After all, having content doesn’t excuse you from organizing it illogically.

With a lot of the landing pages I looked at, I decided the call-to-action button would need to come first. People tend to not scroll down on pages, so if the button is not within view immediately, that reduces the chance people will use my app. The next item on the list is the graphic. People prefer looking at images/videos over text any day: it grabs their attention! Last, but certainly not least, is the brief overview of features. For the people that scroll down, it would be nice if they got some information on how the app works. And thus concludes the construction of the landing page. Check it out in the gif below or go to the Spotify Voice app itself because it’s LIVE!

The new and improved Spotify Voice landing page

Song of the Week

Get It Right by Diplo ft. MØ [Spotify][YouTube]

--

--