Writing Challenge Finale.

Saying so long to #MayIWrite — Day 31

Rhiannon Webb
May I Write
2 min readJun 1, 2017

--

Image courtesy of Unsplash

It’s been a month. I set myself a challenge and had a couple of glitches but all in all I would call this challenge a success.

I have had the pleasure of talking with some interesting people, I have received more followers, and I have learned some things about myself.

I have learned that if I want to write every day, I need to be okay with shorter pieces for most of my work. There are some interesting writing projects that have my attention as well as my awesome writing course through the University of Iowa, and then there’s that whole single parent thing. Time has its limits.

I have learned that how I initially feel about one of these more blog-style pieces has little to do with the piece itself and everything to do with the rest of my mood. If I feel pressed for time or if I’m having a day of writer’s-negative-self-talk I’ll likely be irritated by what I’ve written but my feelings may change completely after a few days, or I may get a message from someone thanking me for having written it. Spending some time frustrated with writing is deepening my relationship with it, which is welcome.

So what’s next? I’ve been asking myself that over the last couple of days. I was recently asked to contribute to two more publications and I would love to direct some content their way, so I’m still going to try to write these “daily” posts most days. I’m not going to do another challenge just yet however.

I’ll be giving some time to pieces for some larger publications outside of medium, I’ll be finishing my course and starting another, and there will be some travel in there too.

I would love to keep hearing from you. Let me know what you want to read. Ask me questions (particularly about parenting & relationships) that you’d like me to answer. I love to write, but the best part is the connection with you.

I will welcome the new month, and I’ll likely celebrate the arrival of June my favourite way: with more words.

--

--

Rhiannon Webb
May I Write

Somatic Sex Therapist & Educator, Relationship Coach, Writer, Queer. Loving every moment of life on the West Coast.