Homegrown kubernetes on ARM

Harshvardhan Karn
MayaData
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2019

When I was nascent in Cloud Native, I was told Kubernetes is the next big thing that you will evidence for yourself. I can see that wasn’t a wrong quote after all.

Today hundreds and thousands of companies have moved or are moving their production to k8s. The reasons are obvious. Back in the days, we didn’t have much choice over the hardware underlying. Now it seems virtually most of the hardware has native support for kubernetes or vice versa. One of the types is ARM(Advanced RISC Machine), and recently it gained quite a lot of traction. The reasons which make this hardware so popular are:

  • Low power consumption
  • Reasonable performance &
  • Cost efficient

ARM Architecture Families

source: https://www.elprocus.com/arm-architecture/

Motivation

I always had a fondness for small/miniature devices from the beginning, they are kind of too sophisticated to carry huge tasks. During sophomore I got chances to get my hands on Arduino, a small microcontroller, embedded with an Atmega-328 microprocessor. It was kind of fun to see my code in action, and small devices doing fancy things. Very soon I developed a …

Read the complete article in MayaData’s Blog

--

--