May 17th (Sunday)

Nick Reynolds
May Days
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2020

I forgot to buy turnips. Fuck.

3D Printing and Modelling

I finally made some real progress with Sutro Tower — I found a few great resources that include some dimensions (Wikipedia, Sutrotower.org), put together a spreadsheet and did some calculus (with the help of Lindsay) to figure out the side lengths of levels 2, 3 and 5 based on the known lengths (and thus angles) of levels 1, 4 and 6.

It’s starting to get there but I’ve got clean up the connections, add base, figure out what I’m going to do with the antenna, and figure out if I’m going to print it in sections or go for one smaller model.

You can give it a twirl in 3D on Tinkercad.

Fun & Friends

A new Stitchfix arrived so I took my new summer clothes to the local community garden with some rosé and a book. Got a sandwich from the amazing Turner’s down the road. It was beautiful.

Thanks Nathan for the cool vintage cocktail suitcase

Visited a friend (recipient of the toothbrush holder) who recently got an espresso machine and got some delicious iced coffees (from a distance).

To round out the day a bunch of friends and I started a new tradition which is just awesome (I think Lindsay came up with it). We have a theme each week that the group uses to select an episode of a TV to watch. We plan to get through ~6 episodes each time. Since this was our inaugural event so the theme was naturally “Favorite Pilot Episodes”. We watched:

  • Futurama: Space Pilot 3000
  • The West Wing: Pilot
  • Black Books: Cooking the Books
  • Please Like Me: Rhubarb and Custard
  • Brooklyn 99: Pilot

A+ event idea.

--

--