Celebrating Diversity and Language in Our City

Proclaiming International Mother Language Day in Edmonton and launching an important City of Edmonton diversity and inclusion pilot project for ESL speakers.

Office of the Mayor Amarjeet Sohi
Mayor Sohi
3 min readFeb 24, 2023

--

On Tuesday, February 21st, my Council colleagues and I joined the Bangladesh Canada Association of Edmonton to recognize International Mother Language Day in City Hall. This event also served as an opportunity for Council and I to pay tribute to the Bangladeshi language martyrs who fought valiantly to have their mother languages acknowledged, and to learn more about the immense barriers that Bangladeshi people overcame to have the right to speak in their own languages freely and without discrimination.

Mayor Sohi, City Council and Members of the Bangladesh Canada Association at City Hall

Edmonton is a welcoming city of many cultures and a home to people who speak more than 100 different languages, all of which are vital to preserving culture and identity. In tandem with International Mother Language Day, the City of Edmonton launched a very exciting pilot project that champions diversity, equity and inclusion for staff and all Edmontonians. Effective immediately, all multilingual City of Edmonton employees can wear a language identifier pin (provided and customized by the City) that will help newcomers and ESL Edmontonians receive the support and services they need from CoE staff who speak their mother languages.

I received my very own language identifier pin that indicates that I speak Punjabi and Hindi, and will wear this with pride as I endeavor to support all diverse Edmontonians in tangible ways. I have my own special connection to the languages I speak, and this connection keeps me rooted to principles of family, heritage and community. I know this feeling is shared by many fellow ESL speakers, and I want them to feel welcomed, included and supported here in Edmonton. I was pleased to see these pins all around City Hall during the International Mother Language Day event, and know that this small step towards inclusion will help foster a sense of belonging and comfort for many newcomers and multilingual community members who call Edmonton home.

Multilingual City of Edmonton staff wearing their new language identifer pins

The City of Edmonton continues to prioritize anti-racism, diversity, equity and inclusion, and Council and I are deeply committed to leveraging the Anti-Racism Strategy and our continued efforts to make our city a safer and more welcoming place.

Together, we can build a more diverse Edmonton for all of us.

--

--

Office of the Mayor Amarjeet Sohi
Mayor Sohi

Edmonton is a place where you can build something. Family. Business. Community. My success is an Edmonton story. And if you like that story, keep reading.