My thoughts on the Prairie Sky Gondola Land Use Agreement decision

Office of the Mayor Amarjeet Sohi
Mayor Sohi
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2022

Innovation on Treaty 6 territory must prioritize and centre reconciliation.

On August 15, we debated whether or not Prairie Sky Gondola should be granted land use agreements after hearing from many passionate speakers last week. I, along with a majority of your City Council, voted against this project for a number of reasons, and I am pleased with this outcome.

The Rossdale Flats area holds special cultural and ceremonial significance to Indigenous peoples, and after hearing from community members, it is clear that Indigenous people should lead the future vision of this site. I am committed to reconciliation, and I could not, in good faith, vote to advance a project that could cause harm or deepen trauma for Indigenous peoples.

Rossdale Flats, early 1900s.

Developing a gondola in Edmonton is a creative, tourism-boosting initiative that I could support in the future, but not in this location. I am a strong advocate for innovation in our city, and I know that Edmonton is home to countless tech, medical, environmental, arts and social leaders who are diversifying our economy in an inclusive way. City Council and I will continue to empower and support these innovators, as we share a goal of building an Edmonton for all of us. We must be thoughtful and open to feedback when developing on Treaty 6 territory.

Views of the Edmonton River Valley from Rossdale Flats

With this being said, I was proud to work with Councillor Paquette on a motion that asks administration to prepare a report to outline a potential governance structure that would empower Indigenous MOU partners and leaders to develop this site together. This motion was unanimously approved and I look forward to our next steps.

Rossdale Flats is an important historical site that is sacred to many, and our River Valley is beloved. We must protect and honour this land, while prioritizing reconciliation, inclusive economic growth and climate resilience every step of the way. I am grateful to everyone who put both emotional and physical labour into this process, and know that together, we will do better moving forward in the spirit of community.

--

--

Office of the Mayor Amarjeet Sohi
Mayor Sohi

Edmonton is a place where you can build something. Family. Business. Community. My success is an Edmonton story. And if you like that story, keep reading.