The Mazaaq Manifesto

Sophia Qureshi
Mazaaq
Published in
3 min readMay 9, 2018

For once in my life, I’m going to be serious.

In this context, my attitude appears ironic. After all, I am introducing a publication to promote humor. However, my motivations for creating this publication are rooted in addressing legitimate societal issues and tackling quotidian problems.

Especially in today’s political climate, life for anyone who deviates from the WASP mold is somewhat difficult. This climate creates a vitriolic atmosphere for women of color due to rampant racism and sexism. Furthermore, in many Desi communities, vestiges of anachronistic cultural mindsets present an additional barrier that prevents brown girls from speaking up. Frankly, I think this mentality is harmful, and I know I am not alone. The core idea that is catalyzing the creation of this publication is to give funny brown girls like me the chance to make their voices (and jokes) heard.

To clarify, I’m my goal is not to vilify the wider brown community. Personally, my family and others around me have been highly supportive of my endeavors. While I know this defensive conclusion is one that many jump to, I simply yearn to create a platform to foster the comedic genius of young brown women. In my experience, the most enjoyable comedy comes from the comedians who are like you, the ones who you can relate to, the ones who understand your struggles, and the ones who seem to say exactly what you think. Unfortunately, there are so few people that I can look up to who are ever in the spotlight.

In honor of the impending AP Biology exam, we’ll use the enzyme metaphor. Enzymes can be weakened using a competitive inhibitor, which binds to the site where the substrate typically would. One of the ways to restore the enzyme’s function is to add copious amounts of the substrate into the system, causing it to outcompete the inhibitor. So, let’s flood the system. By bringing forth a mass of brown, female comedians, we can hopefully outcompete the powers keeping women of color out of the entertainment industry.

Admittedly, humor wasn’t the first tool I turned to when it came to fixing societal issues. I’ve relied on political activism, promoting civic engagement and supporting politicians who represent my values. This method is still of the utmost importance, and a course of action that I continue to pursue. But to capture a wider audience and amplify a massive voice, comedy is necessary. To insert a second medical metaphor and honor my family of physicians, humor is a panacea, a cure to all ills. When my home was vandalized by someone who disagreed with my political views, I turned to an extended meme in order to heal my emotional wounds. Humor makes the challenges more digestible, the pain easier to swallow.

Mazaaq, which means “jest” in Urdu, is to be a dispensary of this essential drug. For all the brown girls who don’t want to take themselves too seriously, or the ones who just want a good laugh after a hard day, or the ones who have serious aspirations in this field, this organization will be a community which will accept you and ensure you are heard. So, I’m calling out to my fellow Desi girls who can not only take a joke, but make a damn good one, too. If you’re interested in writing for this publication, send us a message on Facebook. Share your thoughts, ideas, and talent. It’ll be sick.

--

--

Sophia Qureshi
Mazaaq
Editor for

Your local sarcastic and nerdy political junky