Executive MBA Mama Spotlight: Regina Chavis of Duke’s Fuqua School of Business

MBA Mama
MBA Mama Blog
Published in
6 min readNov 16, 2016

Despite her busy schedule, Regina Chavis set aside time to talk with the MBA Mama team about her experience as a Weekend Executive MBA candidate at Duke University and single mom.

Regina graduated from NC State University with a degree in Biological Engineering and went on to work at multiple, impressive engineering firms which led her to her current Project Engineer position with AMEC Foster Wheeler. She is a dynamic professional with a strong conviction that business can be used to benefit society and a proud member of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina.

Learn more about Regina’s inspiring story, below.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your family?

I am a mid-Career, Engineering Manager in the midst of the Weekend Executive MBA program at Duke University. I feel strongly about the roles that both Engineering and Business play in shaping society and my goal is to become a key opinion leader in both arenas. I am the first person in my family to graduate from college so I feel a tremendous amount of responsibility to break as many glass ceilings as humanly possible.

When free-time comes my way: I read. I write. I travel.

I am a single mom to one special 2 ½ year old son who has the most infectious smile. The world conspired to have him, I was simply the vessel. So many out-of-the-norm events occurred leading up to his birth. I was alone when I saw the test results and this unique feeling of joy came over me. I knew his name was Phoenix, instantly. That feeling was the foundation for finding the strength to tackle motherhood alone. I never looked back and the obstacles along the way have only made me stronger.

He’s been by my side through the craziest of whirlwinds. To give you an idea… once, in a matter of weeks, we visited Louisville, Atlanta, Chicago, Indianapolis, Boston, Amsterdam, two cities in Austria, and France. Oh — did I mention we were also potty training? No diapers, cold turkey. If that doesn’t give you an idea of a day in the life, nothing will!

Sounds like an adventure! Would you say Phoenix played a role in inspiring you to go back to get your MBA? And how did you know that Duke was the school for you?

Becoming a Mother was without a doubt the trigger for pursuing my MBA. I’ve always had the desire to attend a graduate program but Phoenix definitely put an hourglass on those desires. Being a mother is a priority for me, but being present as a mother is even more so. As he begins to grow into who he’s meant to be, I want to be there with no looming regrets. The most important lesson I want him to learn in life, is to chase his dreams at all costs. How could I ever pass this value along knowing I did not do the same?

As far as the decision to go to Duke, it was a no-brainer for me. When I was in High School I was accepted into the School of Science and Math. It was a huge honor, but I simply was not ready to leave home at the time. I turned down the opportunity knowing that I would return to the Duke campus again some day. When the time was right, and hesitation lie dormant, I did just that.

It seems like you’ve been inclined towards engineering for a while. What inspired you to chose engineering, specifically, and how is your Duke MBA preparing you for the career pivots you have planned?

For as long as I can remember, I have loved math and problem solving. I participated in math days and other related, extra curricular activities as a kid. I was totally cool with not being cool. I even wrote President Clinton a letter about one of my environmental technology ideas. When it came time to choose a major, I knew I wanted to solve problems, build things, and have a positive impact on society. In 2001, clean energy was a buzz phrase that appealed to all of my interests. I decided on a Bio-Engineering degree and I feel extremely fortunate that it has served me well.

As an Engineer, I am looking to the Duke MBA to round out my non-technical skill set. In a few short months, it has already done so. I have added a long list of items to my soft skills tool box that I know will serve me well for the rest of my life, in all that I do, in or out of the office.

Can you describe a typical day in your life as an MBA Mama working full-time, doing your MBA, and being a single parent?

In all honesty, everyday, it feels like I’m drowning. Yet, everyday, I survive. I had a huge wake up call leading up to the first week of classes. I found myself stressed at a level I didn’t know was possible. I was in the middle of a project related relocation, the startup of said project, my usual mom duties, and staring at a long list of half finished readings. I realized in that moment that if my goal throughout this experience was to mark every action item as complete, I would never survive. I had to master prioritizing and do away with perfectionism all in the blink of an eye. Everyday I do the best that I can, and for the remainder of this year and next, I made the split decision that that would be more than enough.

The time management piece is definitely one of the most stressful. What do you think has been the most challenging aspect of integrating work and family life during your MBA? How have you overcome that?

I work in a highly male dominated industry. In most meetings, I am the only female or mother in the room. The most challenging part of it all is not holding myself to the same onsite commitment standards that the men are able to achieve. It is impossible for me to be the first in, last out like I use to be — and when you attribute so much of where you are to your work ethic — having to let that go is as difficult as trying not to breath. To help find balance, I’ve gotten much better about asking and receiving help. I don’t quite have the traditional support system, but I’ve received plenty of helping hands from the most unexpected corners of my life.

Speaking of support systems, what childcare resources are you utilizing?

I primarily use daycare. But family, friends, and even co-workers have pitched in to help support my juggling act.

In addition to all that you do at school, work, and as a mom, do you have any passion projects or initiatives you are working on?

I am very passionate about defying definitions, writing, and education. I currently contribute to my blog (ownandon.com) when I can. I have been building out the platform one day at a time for the last three years and look forward to spending even more time on it post-MBA. I have also worked as a mentor for eight years and look forward to serving under-developed communities again post-MBA. In the future, I’d like to focus on my own, under-served, Native American community.

It sounds like you have no shortage of activity! Looking towards the future, how do you hope corporate culture will change towards women and/or women with families in the next five years?

Sadly, being a mother is a scarlet letter in the boardroom. People usually only have one point of reference when forming an opinion on the capacity of a female in leadership. If you’ve never seen a multi-tasking woman in action, you haven’t lived!

I hope that corporate leaders will become more open to the possibility of a mother exceeding professional expectations without sacrificing the opportunity to mold her children into responsible, contributors to society.

In addition, I hope more men will begin to champion diversity in the C-suite. I think their voice is the only missing piece of the puzzle. There are plenty of women armed and ready to take on executive roles as they become more and more available to them.

Thank you so much for your time, Regina. Are there any parting words of advice you’d like to share with current and future MBA Mamas?

If you are a mother, you can already do it all. You will take the challenges of an MBA program in stride and the business world by storm. No ifs, ands, or buts about it!

--

--

MBA Mama
MBA Mama Blog

online platform that provides ambitious women with tools and resources to leverage an MBA and strategically navigate family/career planning