Stacy Blackman Keeps It Real About Having Household Help And The Value Of An MBA For Women

MBA Mama
MBA Mama Blog
Published in
4 min readNov 16, 2015
CEO MBA Mama Stacy Blackman with her husband and three children in Los Angeles.

Last week, we announced that Stacy Blackman, CEO of Stacy Blackman Consulting, was our November MBA Mama of the Month. In part 1 of her feature story, Stacy told us about her wonderful family and offered advice for women considering an entrepreneurial career path. In part 2, Stacy keeps it real — offering her expert advice for women, especially mothers, considering an MBA and shares her time management tips, childcare set-up, thoughts on the MBA Mama community and the biggest mistake women make during the admissions process.

Do you have any advice for women, especially mothers, considering an MBA?

I obviously think it’s a very worthwhile investment. The MBA is such a great degree because it is so very flexible and through the degree and the network, it just keeps on giving. You can switch gears and reinvent yourself so many times.

Reinvention is key as a mother. Life changes drastically when you have a newborn, but also again when all your kids are in school and when they become more independent. I am now a mother of three kids who dress themselves, feed themselves, even make their own plans a lot of the time. My oldest is totally in command of his school-work. They are out of the house from 8–4 and often longer. That’s a very different picture than a stay at home mom changing diapers and rocking babies to sleep.

What childcare options and support network do you utilize to balance work and motherhood?

I have a miracle nanny and a small squad of drivers and helpers! I have no problem admitting that there are many mommy chores I do not do and I could not do all the things I “seem” to do without outside help. It took me a while to figure out what type of help was useful for me, but I am a big proponent of getting the help you need. Even if it feels pricey, it’s not forever and it will make you and your family happier. I simply cannot be in three places at once, so I NEED help, especially in LA where everything is spread out. My philosophy is all about face-time with my kids. I prioritize real time with them over behind the scenes tasks that someone else can do, like picking up groceries.

How do you think SBC can specifically add value for pre-MBA moms who have decided to “go for it” and pursue a graduate business degree?

If you are a working mom applying to b-school, your time is even more limited and precious than the average applicant. SBC helps parents in the same ways it helps every applicant, but the fact that we can take anxiety out of the process and help you save time has double the impact!

Do you have any time management tips that help you stay on top of your game?

I am a huge list maker — if something is not written down, and scheduled in my world, it does not happen. I have a list of business and personal tasks on my calendar every single day, and I know the night before what I am aiming to accomplish the next day, every day. Answering these interview questions was put on my calendar for today last night. If it was not slotted in at 9:00AM, it would not happen.

We also have a huge electronic shared calendar that is color coded for each person in the household, and for overall family events. We share it with my parents and with baby-sitters. It helps keep our crazy world in marching order. That calendar is a lifesaver and it is very, very crowded.

Can you share your thoughts on the MBA Mama mission, and let us know why you think a community like this could be valuable for women?

We can all learn from each other and being part of a community makes us happier and more successful. Being a mom can be isolating, especially when you are balancing with business school and/or a career. Sharing the challenges, the solutions or even just the funny times is helpful for all and can help us all enjoy the journey more.

In your work as an admissions consultant, what is the biggest mistake you see female candidates make and what recommendations can you offer to help others avoid the same error?

I think deciding NOT to go for the MBA because of your family, or plans for a family can be a big mistake. Everyone’s situation is different and and MBA is certainly not the answer for everyone, but don’t rule it out just because you have kids. An MBA might even enhance your mom experience — I know it has enhanced mine!

In case you missed it, MBA Mama is teaming up with Stacy Blackman Consulting to offer discounted admissions consulting services to our subscribers. If you are serious about getting your MBA from a top tier school, and would like to utilize these services, read more about the partnership here.

--

--

MBA Mama
MBA Mama Blog

online platform that provides ambitious women with tools and resources to leverage an MBA and strategically navigate family/career planning